Still celebrating.

“Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional.”  ~Chili Davis

I had a birthday this weekend. I am now officially one year away from my mid-forties! Which just seems so crazy to me, since mentally I’m still pretty much about 18…or less, perhaps! (Do the math folks—that makes me 44. Or as I like to call it, The Year of the Double Fours.)

I shared my birthday with my family on my actual birthday day. It was lovely. An early supper at a seafood place near the beach. Walking on the beach with family. Taking crazy pics. And artsy fartsy pics. And ridiculous pics. Feasting on some Ben & Jerry’s. Then home to watch a movie. It was the perfect afternoon and evening.

My favorite moment of the day?

This:

IMG_4748

Look at the sand. Totally sweet, right? Can I get a collective “Awwww”??

And then there was, well, this:

IMG_4797

And this sweetness right here:

IMG_4869

The fun continued the following evening with a few of my crazier girlfriends. Let’s just say, there were enchiladas, margaritas and a full box of Depends undergarments—essential to any gathering where women of a certain age, or, women who have had children in their womb to destroy, er, shift their bladders, will be laughing their fool heads off for 5 hours. If you are one of said women, you will totally understand. Um, sorry, no pics.

I was blessed by so many cards, calls, texts, Facebook and Twitter posts and just feel so incredibly loved. It’s a nice feeling. And it’s humbling too.

Bring it on, Double Fours! I am ready!

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Gratitude

8 responses to “Still celebrating.

  1. What a wonderful way to spend your birthday! It’s so nice to have a girls’ night isn’t it … especially when enchiladas and margaritas are involved!

  2. Happy belated birthday! Love the sand pic!

  3. So glad you had such a good celebration. The beach looks incredibly sweet 🙂

  4. Kim

    Jane Austen would say you are still on the “right side of five and forty.” Just a little spring chicken. Although, let’s face it, by the time she was your age, she was dead. Cheers!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

