Ten Things of Thankfulness III

This week has brought some great things my way, but it has also brought its share of chaos and busy-ness. Which leads me to thankful thing number one…

1. Exhaustion. Because that means I have worked hard and been busy. It means I have been well and healthy enough to accomplish all the tasks of the week.

2. SHEEP! No, not our little wooly friends. This is the acronym for our homeschool co-op that started back up this week! Jacob participated in classes there for all four years of high school and I teach there. Even though Jacob graduated, I still opted to continue teaching the two science classes I taught last year. That is how much I love it! AND, since Jacob does not have classes on Thursdays, he can come be my helper!

3. More college success. Jacob received the grades for his first two assignments and he got 100s on both! Yay! Really proud too of how he is taking initiative in completing his work and reading.

4. The American Red Cross. I was able to donate blood last weekend. My motivation for doing it for the last 3 years is a young man I know who lives with Common Variable Immune Deficiency. Without weekly immunity boosting injections (immunoglobulin therapy), which are made using blood products, this young man would literally be the boy in the bubble. He is an amazing kid and blood donations are what allow him to live the life of a normal teenage boy.

5. Cooler weather. The last couple of days have brought a palpable drop in humidity and just that little tiny nip of Fall in the air. I love it! Fall makes me happy!

6. Hearing my daughter sing. Emma participated in a community musical theater group last year and auditions were held today for the coming year. Last year at he audition, she was so panicked that she was literally crying. I had never seen her that nervous. The crying actually ended up being a great help in her monologue! I don’t think the director was aware that the tears were unintentional. I have watched her grow in confidence and overcome her performance anxiety over the course of last year. It was quite a transformation. And as I sat there today watching her and listening to her, I couldn’t help but tear up with joy. Another heart-bursting mama moment.

7. Functioning washer and dryer. I hope I am not jinxing myself, but my Kenmore washer and dryer purchased in 1992 are still going strong after all these years! No joke—every time I put a load in, I say a prayer of thanks to God.

8. The Hubs. He drives me nuts, but he is an awesome guy. He works so hard for us. He is a wonderful provider, husband, father and friend.

9.Girlfriends. I know I have said this before, but I am still grateful. My girls who love me and pray for me. My girls who make me laugh so hard! They are medicine.

10. This exercise. I am really thankful for this focus on gratitude. I find myself throughout the week now, saying, “I am SO going to include this in my ten things this week!” My mind is looking for things to be grateful for and when I  focus on those things, it is hard to focus on the ICK…which is why this is so fantastic.

Today I am connecting with the Ten Things of Thankful Blog Hop to celebrate all the things I am feeling especially thankful for this week. You can join in the gratitude at Lizzi’s blog—Considerings.

Ten Things of Thankful

23 Comments

Filed under Gratitude

23 responses to “Ten Things of Thankfulness III

  1. I get the exhaustion thing (Item 1)… on the one day off (each week) that I have, I try to do some physical work (in the woods of the property)… after a few strenuous hours of this, I find of late, my first impulse is to think, “oh man! am I out of shape/getting old” but then I remember that I am, in fact, working hard. Funny about how much of our reality is affected by (very) conscious thoughts and choices!

    Number 5 no…no (and did I say, no?) this is not a wonderful time of year* ok… in the interest of maintaining order (lol) I will say, I am happy you are among the people who have this mixed up notion that cold weather is better than warm weather!

    lol I did enjoy your list.. it is a very beneficial exercise for me each week and the actual interacting with everyone is way cool

    * I would seem to be challenging an item on your list… I really hope there is a TToT Secret Rule that allows for that!…. might have to check with Lizzi

    • Well, let’s just say that “cold” is a relative term. I have lived in the Midwest (Iowa), where I learned the TRUE meaning of “cold”. (-5 degrees + windchill = -15. BOOOO!!!) I was raised in North Carolina where a snow fall (mmm, that would be about 2 flakes) constituted gridlock on the streets and no school for 2 days and no break or milk at the grocery store. In Iowa, snow came (by the feet), the snow plows came, and life went on. Meanwhile, I froze and hated the cold from October to March. Haha! However, I did love how life went on. People didn’t freak out and they knew how to drive in the snow!! Thankfully, we migrated back to the South about 6 years ago and I am back in the land of mild winters. Aaaaahhh! So, while you do not enjoy the cold, and I so appreciate that sentiment, I love my South Carolina winters.

      I am totally okay with you challenging an item on the list, only don’t tell anyone because they might add a new Secret Rule to the Secret Rule List!! 😉

  2. I was late to the rounds this week too. I was visiting one of my girlfriends who I am also very thankful for! And I wish I had a washer/dryer but have to use one in my building hallway. Boo!

  3. I loved the end and I do that too now looking for things to add to my Ten Things of Thankful for the week now. And truly does sound like you have tons to be thankful for and you made me smile about the way you described your husband, because I think I do this myself quite often. I mean I love my husband, but sometimes he can sure be a pain the butt!

  4. One thing that really makes me sad about this lupus thing I have going on is that I can’t donate blood anymore. I am O-, so they used to call me every time it was OK for me to donate again. I hate that I am unable to help in such an easy, but life-changing way.
    Such good things going with your children. Good for both of them, conquering new things and scary things.
    I’m so glad you have found this hop to be helpful. I love reading your thankful posts each week.

    • That is a bummer that you are unable to give anymore! 😦 My hubby’s sister is type O as well…she gets called all the time. And she goes as often as she can.

      Both my kids are getting the opportunity to learn some life lessons these days. It is a really good thing! I always appreciate your comments, Christine and I love reading your posts as well… and not just the TToT ones! 😉 Hope you have a great week!

  5. findingninee

    I think my favorite is your hearing your daughter sing. While I feel so much for her that anxiety led to tears, it sounds like a wonderfully proud moment for both of you. I love that. Also, thanks for the reminder that exhaustion means that we’re lucky enough to be busy and productive.

    • It was a great moment. I was really trying not to lose it! But I am a crier, what can I say?? LOL! It is so fun to see your kids overcome something–that isn’t to say she doesn’t get nervous anymore ever, but to see that it doesn’t overtake her is awesome!

  6. 3. Hip, hip, hooray! I know what a relief that is!
    4. I’m a little partial to the American Red Cross myself, as my husband is the Executive Director of the office here. 😉 I’m so pleased you are able to help your friend with your blood donation. That would be such a good feeling!
    5. Absolutely!
    6. I like hearing my daughter sing and play the ukulele. The musical theater groups sounds like a lot of fun. Wish we had something like that here.
    9. Had quite a bit of girlfriend time this weekend myself. It’s a good thing.

    • That is very cool about your husband’s involvement with the Red Cross! I honestly had no idea the extent of the uses of blood–beyond the obvious blood transfusions–until I met the young man I mentioned and his mom. I feel fortunate that I am able to donate.

      The musical theater group is fun. My daughter and her BFF have a great time. Last year they did a portion of the Broadway show Footloose. The younger kids did selections from the Broadway shows Shrek: The Musical, Charlie Brown, and Seussical. It was a great show. They have a lovely woman who directs it and what is great about it is that it is not just about how well the kids sing or perform it is about working as a team and growing individually as people. She is really terrific with the kids and has such a heart for them.

  7. I, too, find myself mentally (and sometimes physically) composing my Ten Things of Thankful post throughout the week.

    • Yes, it is good to be mindful each day. It is something I have to be intentional about though, because it is so easy to get caught up in the busy-ness of life! Thanks for stopping by!

  8. It is said that a mother is only as happy as her saddest child, and it sounds like yours are doing great, so you have much to be thankful for indeed! I love that you are giving back both as a teacher and as a blood donor. If only everyone realized that we sharing is as essential to our lives as breathing! I loved your last one about being more aware of blessings in the course of our days, it truly works! When we are looking for good things we stop dwelling on the difficult things, we realize that although there are both, good always triumphs over evil and we can attract goodness by focusing our thoughts there. I love this exercise each week, it is a wonderful attitude adjustment! Your washer and dryer are amazing, they just don’t make things that durable anymore. What a blessing to your budget! 🙂

  9. Me too girl to #5. I did a million things today – including hanging out all out bedding. I turned the AC off and was burning up my 6pm though. Lol!

  10. YES! That’s why it’s great – that attitude change which it brought by the exercise.

    I need to get back into donating blood! Might try to make that a priority next week – my list of excuses not to is completely unacceptable!

    Glad that your homeschool group’s begun again and is going well, though I hope you get sufficient break over this weekend to take care of the ‘exhaustion’ bit!

    • Today has been very busy…hence my late addition to the hop! Hopefully, tomorrow afternoon after church I will get me a little nap! Here’s hoping anyway! 😉

  11. zoe

    Thanks for being a blood donor… This month is national blood cancer awareness month as well. Im so glad your neighbor can benefit from donors kindness.

    • It is my great honor to be able to be able to help my friend’s son and so many others! I did not know it was blood caner awareness month…thanks for sharing!

I always love hearing from you! :-)