Life in a post-Downton world

“Edith dear, you’re a woman with a brain and reasonable ability. Stop whining and find something to do.” ~Lady Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham

I am now living in a Post-Downton Abbey Season 3 world. Sigh.

No more Lady Violet zingers. No more Bates and Anna. No more dressing for dinner when the gong sounds. No more Thomas and O’Brien.

It hurts me. Real bad.

I heart Lady Grantham.

{source}

I watched the season finale with great anticipation and great sadness. Couldn’t wait for it…and then didn’t want it to be over. For those of you who have seen it, and who are as obsessed as I am, you surely understand what I am saying.

Suffice it to say, I did NOT love how they wrapped things up for us in the finale. And I am perturbed that I have to wait a whole year (well, close enough) to see how they tidy it all up for me. Well, they can’t make it right for me, but I am sure Mr. Fellowes has something up his sleeve to make me feel better about how he left me hanging on Sunday night. (Shame on you, Julian!)

Which leads me to this: how will I spend my Sunday night TV watching time?

Why, thanks for asking.

I alluded to my Walking Dead couch-fest a couple of weeks ago.

That’s right. Don’t judge me, people.

I think it will fill the spot nicely.

But can you imagine two more diametrically opposed shows? I know, I know. It seems really crazy that I could love them both.

On the one hand, we have everything proper—British Lords and Ladies, tea, biscuits, and fine costuming. On the other, we have, well, everything zombie apocalypse—dirt, survival, no personal hygiene, lots of running, and zombie killing. And a somehow never-ending supply of ammo. That one boggles me.

But what draws me to these programs? I guess, as I see it, it is that the bottom lines are the same in each—they are both still, at their core, about relationships and people taking care of each other and doing life together. I mean, look beyond the premise. Maybe you’ll agree. Maybe not, but that’s how I see it.

So, for now, I have my Sunday nights covered. At least until the end of March, anyway.

How are y’all filling your post-Downton time?

“The pain doesn’t go away. You just make room for it.” ~Andrea, The Walking Dead

13 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

13 responses to “Life in a post-Downton world

  1. Heart Heart Heart Downton Abbey. I’ve had to finish watching the season alone because my husband is much more of a Walking Dead kind of guy. We started watching House of Lies with Don Cheadle recently and are fairly hooked. Check it out!

  2. Okay, you are cool–thank you for coming to my blog through the Linkin’ with my Ladies blog hop. This is an awesome post. I love Downton Abbey and have written several posts about it. This makes me want to write a lot more. I don’t know HOW I am going to fill my Sundays, except that this Sunday I’m going to watch the Oscars and try to forget how Downton in the dumps I am 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Lauren, for the cool points…I need all I can get as the mother of teens who fail to recognize my coolness. I will have to go read your posts about Downton…perhaps they will help my through my post-Downton slump. “Downton in the dumps”…Good one! *snort giggle*

  3. Kate

    Have you watched the Downton Christmas special which or just to the end of the series? Won’t say too much in case you haven’t seen this one as well….

    Found you via Linkin with Ladies and looking forward to following on Bloglovin.

    Kate x
    http://www.kateathome.com/

    • Hi Kate! Are you in the UK? They have just finished airing Series 3 here in the US. I believe what I am calling the Season 3 Finale was the Series 3 Christmas special in the UK. Let’s just say that Mary has given birth and then say that the ending made me very, very sad and then say no more, just in case there are those reading who haven’t seen the episode! 😉 I hear they are starting to film Series 4 this month!! So you lucky folks in the UK will get to see it first…it won’t air in the US until the whole series has aired in the UK, so we have to wait until next JANUARY! UGH! It’s so far away!

      Thanks for your comment and for stopping by! I will check out your blog as well!

      • Kate

        Yes, sounds like you are up to date – the ending made me cry (especially watching it on Christmas evening!).

        I am in Canada, but can get UK TV through my UK laptop.

        Kate x

        • I see! Oh yes, we (my 14 year old daughter and I) were SO sad. For 24 hours we kept talking about it. Oy. Still can’t quite get over it yet. Sigh. You can watch it all again, Kate, on PBS.org. The season 3 episodes, anyway. So nice to connect with you!

  4. Hold the phone! I have read on countless blogs about the show Downtown Abbey. I have never seen it. I assumed it was on some cable channel I didn’t have. I just googled it to figure this whole thing out, and I am now floored. It’s on PBS!?!?!? I have that channel! I could have been watching!
    My husband will be going out of town in March. I will have to watch three seasons of shows in four days. Is it possible?

    • Oh, girl! It’s been right under your nose all this time! You can catch up on Hulu Plus, Netflix (season 1 only, I think), or Amazon Prime instant video (seasons 1 and 2 are free to watch). You can watch the Season 3 episodes on PBS.org. OR if you have a really awesome friend who owns the dvds, you can go that route. And the answer is YES, you can catch up that quickly…you will be that addicted. Then, you will be sad when it is over.

  5. May I join your play club? Two of my favorite shows. The third one is “Touch” with Keifer Sutherland I think I may need to work on separating my emotions from what is ‘T.V reality’ and what is my everyday life reality. These Dowtown and Dead emotional hang overs are about to get the best of me!

    • I have also watched Touch, last season, and really liked it…of course, the autistic element gets me! How the boy speaks, without speaking. Love that. One evening as I was watching Parenthood (my most favorite show) and weeping (as usual when watching P-hood), my Hubby looks at me and says, “You realize these people are not real, right??” I looked at him with disdain and said, “Of course, they’re REAL!” True story. Sad, I know. (Welcome to the club!)

  6. Yes. Yes. All of it. I became hooked on Downton this morning at 3 a.m. I’ve always loved The Walking Dead–LOVED it. We’re not so different, you and I.

    • Oh my goodness,girl!! I just read your post. KEEP WATCHING. That’s all I am saying! So hilarious that we were writing about the same stuff at the same time…we-ird!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

