Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 5}- You Better Work!

As I said in Volume 4 of Getting Fit Fridays, last week was tough. Sorta sick-y. Struggling. I may or may not have spent ALL of last Saturday crashed on the couch watching The Walking Dead marathon.

I confess that I went to my Sunday afternoon workout with my Biggest (Winners!) Losers girls in such a Grinchy mood. I did not want to go. But I did go. And I worked pretty hard and *SHOCKER* my attitude improved immensely by the end of the time.

Hmm.

tossthepole

It is amazing how exercise affects my mental health. Can I get an AMEN??

I’m such a toddler.

“I don’t WANNA do my exercise. No! No! No! I don’t LIKE it!! Waaaaaahhhh!”

Yeah, it’s embarrassing, but true. And a couple of weeks ago, I was all, “oh, yeah, going for a walk, no prob…blah blah blah.” PSHAW!!

Ugh! I’m so whiney. But when I have done it—something, anything to get moving—I feel great afterwards. My mind feels clear. I am so glad that I have done it. And I wanna give myself a fist bump, but that would be weird, so I don’t.

Mental fist bump! Oh yeah!

The thing is just making myself take that first step out the door and making myself go for a run or go to workout with my girls even though there are about a gazillion other things I think I need to be doing instead. Sometimes it is hard to fight that pull of all the other things in life and use them as excuses to eat poorly or take a day off from doing something active.  My friend, Cris, called me out yesterday—

“That’s just an excuse,” she said, when we were chatting.

WORD, girl! WORD! She pushes me, and I love that. Okay, not right away, but she is right, and I do love it and appreciate it.

I am beginning to see some physical changes. My balance is improving. Three weeks ago, I could not do Tree Pose (a yoga style pose we do in a class I have been to) without nearly falling over. This week, I could do it! I can plank longer and my form is better now. Three weeks ago, I could barely hold my booty up or either it was sticking up too high! I can do a real push up now, y’all!! I feel better physically, aside from the creeping crud of last week, of course—just in general, I am feeling better.

Since I am only weighing and measuring once a month, I feel like it is important to recognize these changes, so I have a frame of reference for how far I’ve come and so that I am not just focusing on that number. You know, that number  which enslaves so many of us women. I have to tell you that my scale is still in the back of my car. I never brought it in after that first weigh in. And I think it should stay there because it would be too tempting to get on it every week and then get all crazy over a number that may or may not be any indication of my success.

I just keep hearing a song in my head…♫♪ You better work! You better work it, girl! Do your thing. On the runway…♪♫  (LCD*, again. What can I say?) I’m not looking to be a supermodel, but I know that I better WORK IT. You follow me, right?

So, I am working it! This thing is WORK, y’all! You can’t “sashay shantay” your way through it. I am a work in progress. And when I don’t want to do it, I am doing it anyway. It is the only way to get to where I want to be.

So, tell me, how are you working it these days?

************************************************************************

*LCD – Better known as Lyric Compulsive Disorder. This is a diagnosis I (made up and) gave myself due to my uncontrollable compulsion to associate song lyrics, and subsequently sing them aloud, with pretty much any situation or statement I hear. LCD sufferers UNITE!

Getting Fit Fridays appears weekly here at Red Van Ramblings to chronicle my fitness journey and more importantly, to increase my accountability. Do you need to get back on the wagon? Do you need some help and encouragement? Join with me, if you’d like. We can do it—together.

6 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays, Health and wellness, Music

6 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 5}- You Better Work!

  1. I totally thought you were holding that pole.
    I have been terrible about working out. I need to live in South Carolina so that I can exercise with you in some nice warm non-windy weather.

  2. Oh my goodness Joell, look at you with that telephone pole! You go girl!

  3. I “didn’t” really work it this week with the new job and all but hoping that when I weigh in tomorrow, I will have still lost some because of my eating better and walking quite a bit around at my new building. I have those toddler tantrums too. If I can get my work out gear on, then I am usually motivated to go. I am finding that many things over the last month since I have been working out more, eating better, things are starting to become easier. I like that. Each little step I am counting as a victory! Keep it up, you can do it and so awesome that you have some people IRL that you can be accountable to/with.

    • Hi Jenn! Once you get into a new groove with your new job, you will work it, I know it! Don’t let it derail you! I know how it is for me–some big new change happens and BOOM I’m off the wagon. You can do it! You’ve probably done more that you think with walking around at work and maybe taking the stairs a bit more. Keep it up, girl!! Having the IRL peeps is such a blessing! Hope you can find some IRL support too! It makes such a difference. Hang in there!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

