Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 2}–Rolling Rolling Rolling

What a week! Getting back into this healthy-mindfulness-about-what-I-am-eating-and-moving-more groove has been interesting.

Getting out and taking a walk is not hard for me to do. In fact, that is the easy part for me. It’s the food part that I find tough.

In order to not be so rigid, my goal for this past week has been to eat HALF of what I had previously been eating…which was a significant amount. A significant amount of mindless, recreational eating had been occurring. I think I’ve done pretty well with eating half this week, so I feel great about that.

It is hard not to get into beating up on yourself when you KNOW what you need to do to get the job done and you have not doing it for the better part of 2 years. So, I just have to tell myself that I am doing something NOW and keep pressing on. As Timon the little meerkat from Lion King would say, “The past is in your behind.” So there! Take THAT, guilt! Boo-Ya!

This week, I joined up with a fantastic group of ladies who are doing a Biggest Loser Challenge. They meet throughout the week for workouts and encouragement and among them is my friend Cris, who I mentioned in volume 1 last week. Let me tell you, these people are not kidding around! It is a workout complete with someone yelling at you, the flipping of a giant tire and running while pulling a tire behind you. Yeah, that’s right.

Thankfully, no one has puked or passed out.

Yet.

This is the kind of commitment that gets results, people! And these are just the kind of folks I need to maintain that accountability that I know I require to be successful. Please enjoy this frightening photo that some lovely person snapped of me in  the midst of my pain:pullingthetire

You’re welcome.

So, the big question: Did I drop some pounds this week? Well, the answer is, I am thinking yes, but I don’t really know. The Biggest Loser Ladies are only weighing in once a month. The objective is health and inches lost and not obsessing about the number on the scale. A good plan. But very hard for me. My mindset is to weigh in once a week at Weight Watchers and measure my success that way. (Don’t get me wrong, I love WW. It is a wonderful program!) I wanted so badly to weigh in yesterday. It was hard to resist, but I did. So I will wait and see what the scale shows and what the measuring tape shows in a few weeks.

Meanwhile, I struggle with my own human weakness and my desire to eat whatever, whenever. I also battle against my physical weakness which says to me, “You can’t do any more squats. You can’t run for one more second.” I know I don’t have that dig down deep willpower. At least, not in my own strength. I must rely on the truth I find in God’s Word (2 Corinthians 12:9). I must rely on and draw from His strength and not any that I may or may not possess on my own.

This is not a sprint, y’all. It’s a lifelong marathon. I. can. do. it! And so can you.

How has your week been?

“God arms me with strength, and he makes my way perfect. He makes me as surefooted as a deer, enabling me to stand on mountain heights. He trains my hands for battle; he strengthens my arm to draw a bronze bow. You have given me your shield of victory. Your right hand supports me; your help has made me great. You have made a wide path for my feet to keep them from slipping.” ~Psalm 18:32-36 NLT

10 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays

10 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 2}–Rolling Rolling Rolling

  1. Yeah, there’s no turning back after you drag a tire down the street. That is hard-core. Good for you, not getting on a scale. People get so tied to that number, but it is the wrong thing on which to focus. Muscle is heavier than fat, and tire dragging is building muscle. The number on the scale will only bum you out. Focus on the toning you see and feel.
    I’m pulling (not literally pulling a tire) for you!

  2. Well done Joell. You’re over the hardest part – you actually made a start. So many people never get through that initial barrier.

    Keep up the good work!

  3. You got this beautiful lady! I pulling for you! TEAM JOELL ALL THE WAY!

  4. Joell you have so totally got this! How do I know? Because you’re tied to a tire and that’s tougher than anything I would ever think to attempt. Keep up the hard work!

  5. So so so proud of you gurl! This is the beginning of great things. I am truly enjoying getting to know you and every one of these lovely ladies. Each one brings something special to the group and I believe we are going to see wonderful things. The Spirit of God is powerful and He will lead us into all truth and righteousness. If we are willing and obedient we will experience all that the Lord has for us. Love you lady!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

