Relativity

I do realize that cold is relative, but right now in my sleepy South Carolina town, it is 32 degrees this morning. In frigid Midwest terms, I’d say that would be, oh, probably about 15 degrees with a –5 windchill. We don’t know how to act down here when it gets like this. At least it isn’t snowing, but then, if it were, we’d at least have something to show for the cold temps.

To ward off the chill, I am sitting here with my piping hot mug of tea and our little space heater blowing some nice warm air in my direction. I am also keeping my fingers warm by tapping on these here keys! Ha.

I am thinking my walk will have to wait until the temp comes up a little.

Meanwhile, I plan for my classes at the homeschool co-op tomorrow and wait for Jacob to make an appearance this morning. He is not a morning person.

The apple did not fall far, people.

Christmas 2012 and Jacob and Lubie 074I am always amused when I see things in my kids that I know are true about me as well. I distinctly remember my mom yelling (and yelling) at me to get up in the mornings. Oh, I was just terrible about getting up. (Still hate it.) Now that I am the mom yelling at my kid to get out of bed, I realize that my mom’s head must have been about to pop off every morning of the school year. Sorry, Mom. Really.

Finding something to motivate my son to rise and shine is not easily done, my friends. But when he does get up and it is time to get with the school work, he gets with it. So, as long as he is getting his work done, it is fine with me if he sleeps in a bit.

Hey—I’d sleep in if I could.

I also love when I see things in my kids that I know are not true about me. Though I have always loved to sing, I have always been very shy about singing in public. I have done it, but only a couple of times and probably not since I was about 17. And I was always horrified—like on the verge of puking. So, I am now relegated to singing in the car, the kitchen and the shower, and that’s just fine with me, thank you. I’m on a Les Mis kick at the moment.

Emma sings You're Gonna Miss Me - YouTubeNow, I see Emma, who has joined a show choir this year, really coming out of her shell. And I had the great privilege of seeing and hearing her perform for the first time publically this past weekend. It was pure joy. She was amazing. She is out there doing something I never felt comfortable doing. Proud Mama moment for sure.

Raising these two kids, who are both so like and so unlike my husband and me, is the most incredible gift. Watching them grow and become the young adults they are becoming is priceless.

I am so grateful to God every day.

“The hardest part of raising a child is teaching them to ride bicycles.  A shaky child on a bicycle for the first time needs both support and freedom.  The realization that this is what the child will always need can hit hard.”  ~Sloan Wilson

4 Comments

Filed under Emma, Family, Jacob, Kids, Parenting

4 responses to “Relativity

  1. I so enjoy what you share. Very true words. 🙂

  2. 17 as a high here today in sunny Linville Falls. Another day closer to SUMMER!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

