Getting Fit Fridays–Start Me Up

It has been a while.

I find that life has a way of getting away from me and if I don’t lasso it in every once in a while, I would probably never get a single post written!

Life has gotten away from me in more ways than one…heck, in about 15 different ways. But today, I will address only one of those ways. Today I will address that life long battle of the bulge.

Something you may not know about me, especially some of the newer readers, is that I am a lifetime member of Weight Watchers (WW). If you are not clear about what that means, let me explain. Quite a few years ago now, I lost weight with WW, reached my “goal weight” and then maintained it, within 2 pounds, for six weeks, at which time I was awarded Lifetime status. I then went to WW and weighed in once a month, and if I remained within 2 pounds of my goal weight, I did not have to pay the fee. Never mind that I am now 60 pounds overweight; I still hold my lifetime key. See, they can never take it away from you…they can just make you pay.

But I digress.

Not only was I a Lifetime member of WW, but I also took a job with WW, as a weigher/receptionist. I was the happy face that greeted you, took your money and weighed you, among other things. I loved it. I loved being a cheerleader for others and I needed the accountability of maintaining my weight. It was, most definitely, a win-win.

Then, we moved. Halfway across the country.

And my eating and exercising habits went all to heck.

And I proceeded to blow up.

And occasionally, over the last 5 1/2 years, I would make a somewhat feeble attempt at getting back on the wagon and would fail. Always.

For the better part of the last 2 years, I have simply given up. Not tried at all. Not cared what I ate or that I did not exercise at all. I’m sure there is some really messed up reason behind all that, but I couldn’t begin to tell you what it is. No doubt I need some therapy…

But recently, I started caring again. I just don’t feel very well. I feel tired. And I am tired of having hurty feet and creaky knees and a bulging midsection.

And then, recently, I saw my butt in some pictures that were taken over the Christmas holidays.

YIKES! is all I can say. No, DOUBLE YIKES!! is more appropriate.

You know, it isn’t often you get a view of yourself from behind. It was downright scary!

And in the interest of full disclosure, here’s proof:

The ever-enlarging booty, noted at the 3rd annual flag football game this Christmas. YIKES!

But even though I was caring, I still felt paralyzed. Like I knew I would fail before I could start. I wanted to start, but just couldn’t make myself. And I have prayed and asked for God’s help to somehow dig out of this hole.

Then, I got a phone call. A truly divinely inspired phone call.

My friend, Cris, who blogs at hiddenbeloved, called me one day earlier this week, and extended an invitation to me. An invitation that was the swift kick in the ever-enlarging booty that I needed in order to say, YES, I can do this—if you will do it with me.

I want to be around for my kids. I want to be fit. But I cannot do it alone.

So we met up yesterday, Cris and I. We did our first weigh-in together,  prayed together and committed to encourage each other and keep each other accountable. It is time to put the failure and shame behind and get going. No more excuses.

This morning I went for a walk. I am on my way.

Thank you, Cris, for being obedient to the prompting to call me and ask me to be your buddy on this journey. I am so grateful.

“When you find yourself in a hole, stop digging.” ~Will Rogers

Getting Fit Fridays is going to appear (hopefully) weekly to chronicle my journey and increase my accountability. Do you need to get back on the wagon? Do you need some help and encouragement? Join with me, if you’d like. Let’s encourage each other. We can do this—together.

19 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays

19 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays–Start Me Up

  1. Stephanie Sprenger

    Oh, that was a great post to share on TALU today. In fact, I feel a little like crying right now. I have about ten pounds to lose, not a hugely daunting task, but one I have been putting off. As a sleep-deprived toddler mom, I keep finding ways to reward myself with food throughout the day. I tell myself I really deserve the chocolate candy every few hours…it has become a bad habit and I know it is time to break it. Yet here I sit. Thanks for another reminder that it is time to make it happen.

    • Oh, Stephanie! I used to be a sleep-deprived toddler mama, so I remember how often I was just trying to trying to survive the day. So I get that. I want to encourage you! You can get out there and do something today (unless of course you live where you are currently snowed under, in which case you can dance around your living room with your sweet baby!). It isn’t easy, but with support, you can do it! Press on, girl! That is what I’m doing! Do it with me, okay? I need all the help I can get! 🙂

  2. Good for you, Joell! I’m hoping I can do the same. Our stories are pretty darn close.
    Sigh…
    Thanks for motivating me. And thanks for linking this up with the TALU!

  3. Pingback: Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 5}- You Better Work! | red van ramblings

  4. Pingback: Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 2}–Rolling Rolling Rolling | red van ramblings

  5. You can do it! Great to have a buddy to help encourage, support and be accountable. I have put your blog on my sidebar so I make sure to check in with you and encourage you. Have a great weekend. I am heading to the gym this morning.

    • Thanks so much, Jenn!! Online buddies are awesome, and having an in person buddy is even more awesome! I promise to check in with you as well and also put you on my blogroll! I appreciate you doing that for me so much! Hope you had a great workout at the gym! I am heading out for a walk!

  6. Okay first, I’m sorry I didn’t see this earlier. Second, thanks for agreeing to this challenge. Third, thanks for the love! Fourth, we will do this because He is with us. So looking forward to encouraging eachother on this journey.

  7. That picture – you are such a goof! I couldn’t help but(t) smile because you put that cute heart and caption on it 🙂 Anyway, I am just writing to say that I will be praying for you as well (when I get around to praying….just being honest here, it happens less than it should!) and am here to encourage you in any way I can! Here’s a link to an older post of mine when I was running and pregnant because I unleashed on the world a diatribe along the lines of “if you have two feet and two legs get out there and move!” because I was so over being pregnant and trying to keep fit at the same time. Now I’m working on another one along the lines of “if you don’t have plantar fasciitis, get out there and move!” because I’m so jealous of the people who are in decent shape but aren’t using their bodies the way they could when here I am wanting to run so badly and having to fight my way back to healthier feet. Silly I know. I look back at pictures of myself from before I was a runner (when I had 3 and then 4 kids – started running when number 4 was a year old) and wonder how I had “let myself go” so far. Now that I’ve found something that I enjoy so much (and believe me, a big part of it is the freedom I feel when I’m away from home for 60-90 minutes listening to my music really loud – whether it’s walking, running, or riding a stationary bike, it’s time carved out for ME) I actually weigh less than I did when I graduated from the Naval Academy. So happy with the way I feel – and I never would have known how much happier it would make me until it happened, because I didn’t realize how dissatisfied I was with my body beforehand. Does that make sense? Hope so. Anyway, let me know if you need some good tunes for a playlist and I’ll shoot you over a few of my favorites on itunes 🙂

    • You totally make sense and how awesome that you weigh less than you did in the Naval Academy…after you’ve had 6 kids!! Whoa! That rocks! Thanks for the support and you know I am fighting the plantar too! But hey, I am going to move as best I can. Hoping to one day be back running too. 🙂

  8. Andralee Bright

    Go sista!!! We are all in this together….just trying to stay accountable and not eat the box of Girl Scout cookies! Love you and will be praying for you all the way! Andralee (LaShonda Monique)

  9. Oh my goodness, I love your picture!! I love the heart and the tag line….too funny. Good luck on your fitness journey!

  10. You go girl!!! Will be praying for your journey.Love you

I always love hearing from you! :-)

