All good things…Day 26

Thanksgiving '12 088I don’t really like the saying “all good things must come to an end.” I mean, really, why do good things have to end? Who made that rule?

I am thinking about our visits with family over the Thanksgiving holiday, for example, which were great and always seem entirely too brief. I am always so thankful to be able to go see our people for Thanksgiving, because there was a time when we lived so far away that going home for Thanksgiving was not an option. (Iowa to North Carolina—not a weekend trip.)

Did this saying come about because if it, the good thing, goes on for too long, it won’t seem so good anymore? (Because there is also that saying about “too much of a good thing”, you know.)

Yeah, well. I don’t necessarily subscribe to that theory.

Or is it because we get complacent after a while and don’t really appreciate the “good thing” in the same way as we did at first?

Maybe that’s it.

Maybe. But I just know that when it is time to leave the “good thing” that I call my family, my people, I am really bummed. And, frankly, I find post-holiday re-entry into every day life to be pretty challenging.

I look around and I see how the people I love age and change during the time that I am not with them. I look at my grandmothers and my parents and my mother-in-law and I see folks getting older. I am joyously entertained by my nieces and nephews—the young ones and the not-so-young ones—and wish I could be with them more. I miss having a regular, face-to-face, connection with my brothers and sisters-in-law. I wonder how the time goes by so quickly and why it is that I have to be so enslaved to the demands of my own life that I cannot be with them to enjoy the time we have. I find that the older I get, the more I wish we lived closer and could be more involved in the every day stuff of life.

I am so grateful for the time we are able to spend together, but I miss them all.

And I long for more of these good things.

 

“…for He satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.” ~Psalm 109:7 NIV

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Family

4 responses to “All good things…Day 26

  1. We specifically moved away from our families, as we just needed to be away for a while. Now, I so wish I could be closer. I’m with you. Time is going so fast, and each time I see the relatives, they’ve changed. I would much rather live close to them, to be the aunt who has everyone over all the time. To be able to visit with my grandma every week. I guess we can just do the best we can, keeping in contact other ways.

  2. I couldn’t imagine living away from my family. I did it for three years when my oldest two kids were little. I felt the way you do now. Just…empty…somehow.

    • It is not easy, but we are a lot closer than we used to be and for that I am grateful. I keep hoping though, that one day, we will have the opportunity to be even closer!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

