The Best Gifts. Day 10

 

Fall 2012 

“You don’t choose your family.  They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.”  ~Desmond Tutu

 

 

For as far back as I can remember, I only ever wanted to be a mother. And I am so thankful today, and every day, that God allowed that to happen. I am thankful for the two beautiful gifts He gave me: the two incredible people who are my kids. Sometimes when I look at them, it feels like my heart will explode because I love them so much.

Jacob

I love my son’s laugh. It is probably the sound I love best in all the world. When he gets so tickled at something, the pure joy that comes out of him is so contagious that I crack up too.  I love how smart he is, how honest he is, and how gentle he is. I am so grateful for his perseverance and hard work. He is an incredible young man.

 

 

 

 

Emma

I love my daughter’s strength and humor. I am so thankful that she has such a strong sense of self-respect and yet she does not take herself too seriously. I love that she speaks her mind and that she is not pulled in to crazy girl drama. She is the kind of young woman I wish I had been at her age. She amazes me.

 

 

 

 

I am so thankful to God for these kids, the kids who made me a mom, who both know the Lord, who teach me so much, who are just so super cool, and who give me such joy! Oh, and they allow me to embarrass them in public, which gives me even greater joy! I am blessed beyond measure!

Children are a gift from the Lord;
they are a reward from him. 

~Proverbs 127:3 NLT

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Parenting

2 responses to “The Best Gifts. Day 10

  1. I found your blog via the blog hop on Bloggy Mom’s. I’m in a different mommy boat as mine are still young. I’m curious what they’ll be like when they’re older.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

