Scarves and Sad Plants. Day 9

30 days of thankfulness

 

It’s a crisp Friday morning here in the South. We have had pretty hard frosts the last couple of nights. <shiverrrrr> Fall has really arrived!

A couple of nights ago, I had to bring in my sad little plant (that has been trying to die for months) off the front stoop , so that it wouldn’t die for real. Sadly, I am not the green thumb that my grandmother and my mother-in-law are! SIGH. I do try to keep alive the lovely plants they give me, and though they are technically alive, they just end up looking kinda sad. In a half-alive sorta way.

In case you don’t believe me, I give you Exhibits A and B:

Exhibit A. Half alive house plant           Exhibit B. Rescued from front stoop

Moving on…

I love when the mornings turn chilly and I have to get my scarves and sweaters out. I do love me a scarf, y’all! This morning, I have on my green fuzzy one as I sit and sip my yummy hot tea. The Hub is confused as to why I wear my scarves in the house; he is always certain that I am too hot. I assure him I am not. Wearing my scarf just makes me feel cozy and snazzes up my outfit. Who doesn’t like feeling cozy and snazzy, right?!

Even in the midst of the dying leaves outside and the plants in my house, I see lots to be thankful for. I am thankful to see the seasons change. I am grateful to see the leaves change their color, not only for the beauty of that, but it is also evidence that life carries on, things die off and then there is new life to come in the spring. I see those half-alive plants and I am thankful for the Green Thumb Ladies in my life, who are both awesome for much more than their gardening skills. I am thankful for the warmth of the tea and my soft fluffy scarf, as they both provide comfort and coziness on this fantastic fall day.

Delicious autumn!  My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.  ~George Eliot

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

4 responses to “Scarves and Sad Plants. Day 9

  1. “Dontcha just love New York in the fall? …bouquets of sharpened pencils…”

I always love hearing from you! :-)

