The Day After. Day 7

It sounds like the title of a sci fi movie…The Day After.

The election is over. All the analysts are still trying to analyze. The people have spoken and there you have it.

I generally avoid discussing anything related to politics…ever. But on the day after, what I want to say is this: I am grateful to be an American and I love this country, but I do not put my faith and confidence in any man, Democrat or Republican.

People worry about the state that our country is in and what the next four years will now bring. People worry about how the president will deal now with the economy and jobs and taxes and abortion and war and foreign policy and gay marriage and a plethora of other issues.  These are legitimate concerns and I believe it is my responsibility to pray for our president as he leads this nation as it relates to these issues.

But I believe that there is another important issue at hand: the hearts of the people of this country. Personally, I think that the current state of our union has  a lot more to do with the state of our own hearts and less to do with who lives in the White House.

So, here is what I suggest:

Let’s pray for the hearts of the people of this country, including mine and yours and President Obama’s and all our elected officials. Let’s pray that people will seek God, that they will choose to do what is right, what is good and what is pleasing to God. Let’s stop being angry and blaming this thing or that person for the way things are. Let’s love one another, because so many people are really hurting out there!

I don’t care if you fall on the left or the right side of things. If we are going to be a great nation, then we have to stop being so angry and selfish and feeling so entitled and look out and look up.

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 2 Chronicles 7:14 NIV

I am thankful that God is still in charge of things. After all, in Matthew 18, Jesus said that all authority in heaven and on earth has been given to him, so I don’t need to worry. I am also thankful that He is able to change the hearts of men and women, because we are all a hot mess. I am a big old hot mess, myself!

So whether or not your candidate was elected, our job now as the people of this nation, is what it has always been: To examine our own hearts. To pray. To love. To have hope. Yes, hope.

“As for me, I will always have hope…” Psalm 71:14 NIV

Let’s pull together and pray for our country. Pray for its leaders and pray for the hearts its people.

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had,  so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Romans 15:5-6 NIV

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 NIV

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

2 responses to “The Day After. Day 7

I always love hearing from you! :-)

