November again. Day 1

November arrived this morning. I know I shouldn’t be surprised; the rest of this year has somehow managed to fly past in a crazy speed of light kind of way.

With November comes the bloggy time of year I like to call, 30 Days of Thankfulness. I try to write each day about the things I am thankful for, and I love it, not only because I am living in a gratitude state of mind, but also because I get back into the habit of writing…a habit which has been lacking of late!

Yesterday was Halloween. We have always participated in this holiday, mostly for the fun of coming up with creative and fun costumes, but let’s be for real…it’s really for the candy haul, of course.

Maybe you are aware that my children are 17 and 14. They still love to dress up. And I am glad. It helps me feel like I can still cling to something of childhood. (Yes, I struggle with letting my babies grow up…)

Unfortunately, this year, they both said they were not going trick-or-treating. Yes, friends, the days of trick-or-treating are apparently over en mi casa. <sad face here> Emma said, “Mom, I think I’ll dress up and just stay home and give out candy.”

Um, okay.

So, that is what we did. And by we, I mean, Sherlock Holmes and Katniss Everdeen and Hubby and me.

Halloween '12 Sherlock and Katniss

It’s always a little hectic when Halloween falls on a weekday. We are rushing around trying to get the costumes on and the candy in the bowl and the pumpkins carved—major fail on that this year, by the way.

In the midst of all our final preparations, I heard the doorbell ring. Jacob headed to the door to greet the little kiddies. I was still in the kitchen and I heard him open the door. I could hear voices as he opened it. Jacob likes to withhold the candy until he hears the magic words: Trick-or-Treat!!! Obviously, Jacob did not hear what he wanted to hear and the transaction was not going as expected. Then, I heard a kindred mama’s voice say about her sweet child, “He doesn’t understand. You see, he’s autistic.”

There was a pause and then:

“I do understand. I have Asperger’s.”

It was Jacob’s voice.

My precious son, who never talks about his autism, spoke these words to a mama who had probably taken a lot of time to prepare her little boy with social stories and lots of practice about what to expect when trick-or-treating  and practice saying “trick-or-treat” and “please and thank you” and  lots of anxiety on her part about how the evening would go.

Been there, done that.

“Oh, okay.” I heard the other mama say. And I could hear the smile and gratitude in her voice.

Jacob gave the little guy some candy.

My heart swelled. My eyes welled up.

My boy.

He is coming into his own. He understands himself. He is growing up. He related his own struggles to the struggles of someone else. Wow.

He is amazing.

I am so thankful for the incredible gift of my son.

Halloween '12 006

 

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.” 1 Chronicles 16:34 NIV

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Autism Days

4 responses to “November again. Day 1

  1. Oh Joell- this made me cry. I don’t cry all the time, but knowing Jacob, and how big this is for anyone to say, but also for him to share- wow- just wow. Thanks for sharing this. Thank you so much. Love you- Sarah

  2. Awwww. Made me well up just thinking of how that mom felt at the door, and then how thankful she must have been for Jacob’s kind words. And I like your writing. Much more succinct than mine and packs a big punch 🙂 Of course, I don’t blog because I think of myself as a write or particularly enjoy writing – I just do it for the help it is for me in other ways 🙂 You sound like one of those bloggers who actually knows what she’s doing 😉 I know what I’m doing now, though – going to bed! 🙂

    • You are kind, Corey. I sure would not say that I know what I’m doing, but I do love writing and I do find it therapeutic for sure! Now heading over to your blog to get caught up! 😉

I always love hearing from you! :-)

