Unplugged

I’ve spent the last four days unplugged. And it was not easy.

This was not planned. I took my laptop on our little getaway, thinking I would do some writing. Or work on school stuff. Or at the very least keep up to date with Facebook and Twitter. And whatever other earth shattering, up-to-the-minute and not-to-be-missed details were going on in the world!

Nope. Not happening. The expected internet connection was out of commission.

You should also know that I am the proud owner of a non-smart phone, just your basic talk and text, since I am too much of a cheapskate to pay for a data plan. So there was no web that way.

I just had to “rough it”—sad, right? Sad that I consider no internet connection roughing it.

Once I realized that I would not be able to check Twitter every 10, okay, every 5, minutes, I took a deep breath and threw my hands up in surrender.

Guess what?

I enjoyed the time with my family, at my Happy Place—the beach. We were with extended family that we only see about twice a year, which was great. My hubby and kids jet skied for the first time and had a blast and I had a blast watching them! It was a wonderful time…except for when it wasn’t…when I saw how short-tempered and easily irritated I can be.

UGH.

Being unplugged allowed me to be free of distractions, the distractions which apparently usually distract me from how very unloving and impatient I can be at times.

Oh, it’s true, and it’s not pretty. It’s a harsh reality for me, the friendly, chatty gal that most people get to experience. I will often save the ugliest part of myself for my husband. I will spare you all the gory details, but trust me when I say, a big old helping of “bless his heart” is in order!

Why do I do that?

I was reminded of 1 Corinthians 13, often read at weddings and referred to as The Love Chapter. Here it is, in part:

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails.

Okay, if love is patient and kind, then I am not love. If love is not proud, then I am not love. Not self-seeking? Not easily angered? It could easily also say, love is not a control freak, not a fun-sucker, not moody…

Wow. I am failing miserably at this love thing, which I have seemingly been working at for a really long time.

I whisper a prayer: God, help me.

(Y’all ever send those prayers up? The “God, help me” prayers? When you just don’t know what else to say?)

Here’s what I know:

Actions without love are empty.

Love without action is a gyp.

Here’s what else, I am not love. Apart from God, who is love, I can love no one. God, help me to get it right. Because, like this song (and scripture) says, without love, I am bankrupt:

The Proof of Your Love by For King & Country
7 Comments

Filed under Lessons

7 responses to “Unplugged

  1. BTW I love that song.. So good!!!!!

  2. Gosh, girl this is so right on. The Lord is dealing with me a lot, in that area lately. What’s interesting and good is that God has been allowing these really difficult people to come into my life lately, I believe, to force that junk to the surface. That selfish, prideful junk. It’s good though, because if I was not so agitated and frustrated I would never be able to see that junk in me. I would think I was fine. It’s so good when God puts me in situations to draw all that stuff up to the surface so that I can deal with it. Not just think everything is dandy. I love how God works. He brings it up so we can come to him and repent, get into His presence and be changed. Redeemed from the old man.. I think I need to go Thank Him haha:)) Hugsss… K

    • I like to call those people and situations “opportunities to grow”!! LOL. He is so good to help us that way! And I just heard that song for the first time in the car driving home from our trip…it really hit me smack in the place where I needed it!

  3. This is *so* me. Sigh. I’ve been working this year on focusing on what I need to do to be the wife he needs – not because things were bad before, but because God was calling me to step it up. Sometimes the stretching to be better, hurts. But I’m seeing some results where I *know* I used to mess up (or, mess up worse!) and the fact that there’s growth is encouraging. Being unplugged is tough in this day & age. Glad you survived! 😉 Great post!

  4. Ah, Joell, this is so well written. And such an encouragement too about the humanness we all have. Social media is a blessing- and a curse. Thanks for speaking to my heart and teaching me a lot this Saturday morning. LOVE YOU, girl!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

