Fly, Sweet Girl

Beauty.

Inner. Outer.

Ocean eyes of blue brilliance begging me to dive in.

Can I see what is inside?

Once wide open, now cautious about sharing.

Starting to make her own way; to make her own choices.

Making me proud;  my heart nearly bursting.

Bittersweet.

So hard to see her growing up.

So exciting to see her growing up.

Fly, sweet girl. Spread your wings.

Don’t hide like I did. Don’t be afraid like I was.

Show them how amazing you are.

Let them all see what I see—

Beauty.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Fly, Sweet Girl

  1. That’s so beautiful Joell. I have a 13 year old daughter who is my little angel and this poem so resonated with my heart. It is so sweet.
    Kristin
    http://intentionallyinspired.blogspot.com/

    • Thank you so much, Kristin! My daughter is 14…such an awkward age. Wanting to be grown up, but wanting to be a kid. Thanks for coming by!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

