Happy Place

I have two words for y’all: Happy Place.

Two more: The Beach.

Yes, that’s right. The beach is my happy place. The place I have been fortunate to be for the last two days, thanks to some kind friends who shared their vacation home with us, minus Hubby, sadly, because he had to work.

View from the back porch. Folly Beach, 2012The place where I close my eyes and breathe in the salt air and with it, a sense of peace and calm. I breathe out any worries or cares. Everything  that seemed stressful before just seems to fall away. I look around and I see God’s beautiful work in the pelicans as they dive bomb into the water looking for that elusive meal. I hear the surf calling to me, “Shhh, shhh”, inviting me to sit back and enjoy.

And I do.

I love to sit there on the beach, sipping a cold drink, laughing with friends and watching the kids play. Watching the people go by. Listening to the gulls calling “feed us, feed us”. Cheering the kids on as they construct their masterpiece in the sand. And reading a few words in the book I’ve been trying to finish for three weeks.

There is no other better vacation spot as far as I am concerned. It never gets old to me. I don’t mind the sand and how it sticks to the sunscreen after you’ve applied it. I don’t mind all the work involved in packing every possible thing you might remotely need, just in case. I don’t mind all the dirty laundry it produces. I don’t even mind being separated from my internet!

It is all worth the trouble.

Even the sunburn.

“The cure for everything is salt water—sweat, tears, or the sea.” ~Isak Dinesen

“Your throne was established long ago;
you are from all eternity. The seas have lifted up, Lord,
the seas have lifted up their voice;
the seas have lifted up their pounding waves.
Mightier than the thunder of the great waters,
mightier than the breakers of the sea—
the Lord on high is mighty.” ~Psalm 93:2-4 NIV

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Friends

3 responses to “Happy Place

  1. Pingback: Unplugged | red van ramblings

  2. Joell the more I read about you the more I see we are alike. DDP and now my happy place is the beach also. I don’t know what comes over me when I sit by the water but this feeling like I am home comes over me. I am so content. It’s like every worry or trouble that I am going through just disappears for the moment in time. I am further from the water now but I do live behind a pond which I call my puddle lol.. Thanks for posting this. I love that scripture you posted

    • Amen, girl!! It was hard when we lived in the Midwest to be landlocked and not have my beach. And the dirty sand at the “reservoir” just didn’t do the same thing for me! But God saw fit to bring us back to the coast. I am very grateful! Thanks for your kind words!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

