Wash Over Me

Living Water, wash over me.

Flow through me.

Sustain me.

Fill me.

Let the sound of the flowing water drown out the loudness of the distractions that surround me.

 

Living Water, keep me afloat.

Calm me.

Refresh me.

Satisfy me.

Overflow and fill those around me.

 

Mountain Stream, Montreat, NC. Feb. 2009

I wrote this poem in 2001 while I was on a Christian women’s retreat that I used to go on for years (and years) in Montreat, North Carolina. That particular year’s retreat came at a time when I was struggling as a young mom to a young son with Asperger’s Syndrome. I was hurting and I was grieving.

During a quiet time that weekend, I made my way to a rock by a little mountain creek. I sat there breathing in the brisk February mountain air, enjoying the sounds of the water, crying out to God and listening to God and then allowing Him to wash over me with His peace, love and encouragement. This poem was born from that moment.

One of the things I learned from that weekend, was to stop and look at the things in life that may bring grief and hurt and ask “what is this telling me? what is God trying to teach me here?”

Don’t be afraid of those hurts and feelings. To sit with them.

Henri Nouwen said, “ God wants to touch you in a way that permanently fulfills your deepest need. It is important that you dare to stay with your pain and allow it to be there…The pain you suffer now is meant to put you in touch with the place where you most need healing, your very heart. The person who was able to touch that place has revealed to you your pearl of great price…the experience of being fully loved…No human being can heal that pain…Dare to stay with your pain, and trust in God’s promise to you.”

God promises to love us in our pain. Fully.

We all have deep hurts and needs in our lives. We all struggle. We all experience grief, fear, emptiness, desperation, and loneliness at times. Be careful not to run away or reach out to the wrong places to get those needs met. Go to the Source. Our empty places can only be filled by God, by the love of God, by the power in His Word. Our deepest need will never be met as long as we rely on outside things to fill us up.

Jesus, the Living Water, is the thing that will fill you, restore you, heal you, direct you, allow you to be fully loved, and give you peace and will, in turn, spill out of you and into the lives of others.

Are you willing to stay with your pain and then allow God to love you in it, and walk you through it to the other side?

I ask this of myself. I confess that there are times when I am better at letting God love me and wash over me. At times I find it really hard to sit with my pain, because, well, pain hurts. My tendency is to run—fast. But I have learned over the years, that the only way out, is through and I would rather go through my pain with Jesus than by myself.

“For men are not cast off by the Lord forever. Though He brings grief, He will show compassion, so great is His unfailing love. For He does not willingly bring affliction or grief to the children of men.” ~Lamentations 3:31-33 NIV

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:6-7 NIV

______________________

This post is a contribution to:

9 Comments

Filed under Faith, Inspiration, Peace, Poetry

9 responses to “Wash Over Me

  1. Pingback: When Life Isn’t Perfect | red van ramblings

  2. Today, at the blog, I announced that I would start sharing guest posts and I hope you consider it because you write lovely. 🙂

    I am especially intrigued how you dealt with having a son with Aspbergers.

    Maybe you would consider sharing?

    Thank you for linking up to the blog carnival!

    • Hi Duane. I would love to write something for you! I’ll go read your blog to check out the details. Unless you have something specific in mind you’d like to hear me write about.

      As for sharing about my son, I have been blogging since late 2006 (off and on) and I have shared about him in quite a few posts and how we have been walking through the world of Asperger’s. You’d have to read some older posts. Maybe some from the Asperger’s Syndrome tag or categorized under Autism Days and Jacob. He has come such a long way!! And I would venture to say, so have I! Ha!

      And thank you so much for the kind words about my writing! 🙂

  3. Thanks for coming to visit me over at my site. It was a joy to “see” a new face. I know of this pain you speak of. I was fired from my job in January. I had been a nurse for 30 years so this was not just a job. I am beginning to see I needed that trauma to deal with important issues in my life, but it is still very painful. I thank you for your insight. I needed your perspective.

    Dawn

    • Sorry to hear how you lost your job, Dawn. Based on what I read at your blog, the time since then has not been wasted. Thank you so much for your kind words.

  4. Love your poetry, thank you for sharing it and the story behind it. Bless you!

  5. Dear Lord,

    What are you teaching me this moment? Whether through pain or joy, may I always hear your voice; may I always find comfort in you.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

