Mental Chase

Looking at the words, but not really reading.

Thoughts swirling, drifting, scurrying, crowding, distracting.

Fighting for space.

Words, like a dark cloud filled to near bursting, hang heavily in my mind,

Too jumbled together for me to grasp the meaning of any single one.

Focus, oh, so elusive.

Clarity, aren’t you the sly one?

Always darting away, waiting for me to give chase,

And then turning, waiting, edging

Ever so slightly. Away. Just beyond my fingertips.

Almost mocking.

I collapse, exhausted,

Still looking at the words, but not really reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

I always love hearing from you! :-)

