One thousand words a day

I have made the decision to write at least 3 times a week, even if I feel like I don’t have any “blog fodder”. I do so love when I have me some good blog fodder! But the only way to blog consistently, is to blog consistently, right?

Discipline.

Also known as “The Elusive Discipline”.

It is something which I feel is often in short supply at my house—not just in the writing area. But I am pretty sure that is blog fodder for another day…

I read recently that Jack London, author of The Call of the Wild, which Jacob and I just finished reading for school, committed to writing one thousand words a day. Every day, y’all! That, my friends, is commitment. Discipline. A determination to hone your craft. Now, I’m not saying I want to train Olympic-style to write the next great American novel, but I am saying, for the sake of my mental health, that committing to blog regularly is what Martha Stewart would call “a good thing.”

In other news, we are currently focused on getting through the  next day and a half. Emma’s last day of school is Friday, the 25th, and is also a half day. Unfortunately for Jacob, there is still work to be done. But I think we will be finished by mid-June, if we can stay on task. Which is questionable. Hm, the elusive discipline rears its ugly head. Again. Gotta work on that.

Not sure what this summer holds for us, but this I do know: there will be lots of water activities because no one in this house has any broken body parts! Can I get a WOOT WOOT?! We are having to work double time to make up for the Lost Summer of 2011. Plans are in the works for the beach, water park, surf camp, no surgeries and lots of walking around unassisted! And maybe running! Yes! Let there be running! So excited!

For me, there are also reading plans! I plan to finish HP Order of the Phoenix, which is currently half-finished. (I am trying to get through the series at the urging of my kids.) And then the plan is to move on to The Hobbit. Just to get in the Middle Earth mode, as Jacob and I are going to do a British Literature course next year based on the Lord of the Rings trilogy  in combination with some other goodies, like Frankenstein, Robinson Crusoe, Beowulf and Great Expectations. After that, I will be reading my Rainbow Science and Zoology textbooks and lesson planning to prepare for my co-op classes for next fall, as well as Jacob’s classes. So, I will feel really accomplished if all that happens! Methinks I better get crackin’!

Meanwhile, I am also hoping to get started on curbing my carb addiction and working out more…Time to really burn up that Zumba Wii game I got for Christmas! Oh! And work on my one thousand words a day. <wink>

Wish me luck!

“Seek freedom and become captive of your desires. Seek discipline and find your liberty.” ~Frank Herbert, Chapterhouse: Dune

“All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.” ~Hebrews 12:11

2 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family, Homeschooling

2 responses to “One thousand words a day

  1. Good luck on all your summer endeavors! Especially the water activities because clearly they are the most important. Love the idea of the British literature course! Look foward to your next blog 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

