And So, Happy Christmas.

“So this is Christmas. And what have you done?”

This phrase has been haunting me a little bit in recent days.

It is possibly because it is every other song on the radio in this season (Happy Christmas/War Is Over by John Lennon) or because of my LCD, but more than likely, it is because there is some truth there that I am supposed to be “getting”. Otherwise, that is not the particular Christmas song that would be looping in my brain.

SIDEBAR: My most favorite Christmas song is O Holy Night. I particularly enjoy Josh Groban’s version…not only because he is my baby brother’s identical twin, but because his voice is like butter—velvety and delicious.

View and Discuss—Bro on the Left, Gro on the Right:

my totally awesome brother, Scott       the awesome Josh Groban

Am I right? Scott has totally been mistaken for Josh Groban on several occasions. They are similar build as well. It is kinda creepy.

But I digress…

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, or more accurately, on that newly discovered planet Keplar 22B,  since its release in 1971, you have heard this song. Now, it is not my favorite Christmas song at all. In fact, I find it kind of depressing. It’s not a warm and fuzzy song, in my opinion. And it doesn’t even have anything to do with Jesus. Mainly, it seems like it is a song that was written as a war protest, and I’m not even sure that the “what have you done” part is so much suggesting we go out and serve the homeless dinner as it is “what have you DONE to those poor Vietnamese caught in the midst of war” kind of statement. But there is something about that “What have you done?” that just gets me and stays in my head.

Isn’t Christmas supposed to be all silver bells and ribbons? Twinkling lights and hot chocolate? Nativity scenes and Baby Jesus? Baby, it’s cold outside and snuggle up to the fire? Yes. It IS those things. But what else?

So this is Christmas. And what have you done?

What have I done?

Have I given a thought to those who will be lonely this season or mourning a recently lost loved one? Have I given a coat to someone in need? Or a smile? Have I hugged someone or encouraged someone? Have I prayed for those in need? Have I given of my time, finances or talents to be a blessing to others? Been to those places where Jesus would have me go?

So far, I have only been to the vast shopping centers of Atlanta, Georgia.

Clearly, I have some work to do.

2 Comments

Filed under Lessons

2 responses to “And So, Happy Christmas.

  1. That is crazy, right?? Funnily, my mom LOVES her some Josh Groban…he is great and all but I wonder if her initial love for him was spurred on by his twinness to my bro. Oh well.

    Your “cheer” did not necessarily rub off, only made me think, and that is a good thing! 😉

  2. Great post Joell, sister of Josh Groban’s stone-cold-twin. Oh, man. I hope my “Christmas cheer” didn’t rub off on you the other day. I’ve been feeling this way too lately. What the heck am I doing? In December and through the rest of the year–feels like a whole lot of nothing (of much importance anyway). I think for each person it’s different–because I’ve done more this year than I have any other year and yet, I feel like my actions have been significantly less impactful.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

