Fun at the Four-Way

So yesterday, I got cursed out by an old dude driving a truck. Ironically, he looked a good bit like Santa.

Things that make you go, “Hmm.”

I know! It was rather disturbing.

According to Emma, this seems to happen at regular intervals. Really? I guess I hadn’t really kept count. She reminded me that I had been flipped off and/or sworn at before. At the four-way stop.

Oh, the accursed four-way stop!

Four-way stop

Photo via 9GAG

South Carolina, in my personal experience, is (in)famous for their four-way stops. I find them kind of annoying and feel that there are just way too many of them. Are the DOT people just too lazy to put in a stop light? Or is it because they are too cheap? It’s hard to say. But it seems to me like everyone is sitting there at their own personal stop sign, waiting for the next person to go.

You go. No, really, you go. Okay, I’m going. Wait. No, YOU go….It’s like some weird game of chicken. Only no one seems to know the rules.

Except me. <wink>

Yesterday, at one of our most famous four-ways here in Cackalacky, I was under the impression that it was my turn to go, but apparently the old dude in the big honkin’ Ford F-350 disagreed. So, as he blew on through the intersection he shook his head at me and mouthed some ugly words…yes, I could tell what he said, though I won’t repeat it here. Ford F-350 trumps The Edge every time, so I gladly allowed him to go on his not-so merry way.

I just want to know why people are so uptight and cranky. And what is their hurry?? I tell my kids all the time, you are NEVER in so much of a hurry that you need to drive like <insert your favorite NASCAR driver’s name here—I usually go with Dale Earnhardt for some reason, which is not good, because, bless his heart, he is no longer with us>…that is, unless you have a pregnant woman about to give birth or someone bleeding profusely in your car, in which case you should have called 911 anyway. So again, there is no need to drive like a bat out of hell. Slow Down, People!

SIGH.

What have we learned here? 1. Four-way stops are dumb. 2. Be very suspicious of old Santa-looking dudes who drive big honkin’ trucks.

Moving on.

December rolls crazily along here. I am looking very much forward to the break (Come on, December 16th!) where we can relax and enjoy the sights, the sounds and the joys of the season and celebrate Jesus and family. Meanwhile, we try to finish up school work, scurry to band concerts, get the tree up and finish our shopping.

I am thankful for every bit of it!

“Tradition: sit with husband in a room lit only by tree lights and remember that our blessings outnumber the lights.  Happy Christmas to all.”  ~Betsy Cañas Garmon, www.wildthymecreative.com

12 Comments

Filed under Random Silliness, The 'Hood

12 responses to “Fun at the Four-Way

  1. Pingback: I am a screw up. | red van ramblings

  2. We’re getting roundabouts in our town, too. They’re the coolest thing since round wheels, once your get used to them. Although a dear friend/co-worker said, very innocently, “Every time I go through the roundabout, people seem to be honking at me.”

    Hmmmm. 😀

    TALU!

    • Well, I sure do wish they would bring those things down here to South Carolina if they are that great! I could use the break from all the honking! LOL Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  3. So true, so blasted true.
    People have pushed me past my breaking point with four-ways stops. I don’t wait for all of the hemming and hawing anymore. I give the person with the right of way a few seconds. If he doesn’t move, I do. And I have a 12-passenger van, so nobody dares test me.
    Roundabouts, in theory, are much better. We are getting more of them here in Indy. They completely throw most of the elderly, though.
    TALU!

  4. Love this, Joell! We have those in PA, too, and they’re just as stupid here, let me assure you. And btw? Anytime you say “(number) way”, you should always follow it with “stop”. Otherwise the mind just goes to weird sexual thangs. Just sayin’. Maybe that’s why the old dude was so cranky.

    Thanks for linking this up with the TALU!

  5. findingninee

    Ha! Four-way stops are confusing. What’s even worse for me are roundabouts which are all over DC. I kid you not that once, I had to go around four times just to figure out which leg I was supposed to get off on. I got honked at. And flipped off. I didn’t really feel bad though as I blamed it on the poor design.
    Glad I found your blog via TALU!

  6. Ah yes! You SO get me!

  7. Ha! Right on with the four-way stop sign observations! Why are they so blasted frustrating?!!! I deal with this one particular spot every single day driving the kids to school. It’s like the whole town converges at this one four-way stop sign into one single horrendous traffical nightmare. And no one knows how to take turns. Except me of course. ; )

I always love hearing from you! :-)

