30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 30!

Day 30 is here! I can hardly believe how fast November has come and gone!

Additionally, I can hardly believe that I have stuck to my 30 days of thankfulness blog challenge! So, I would like to congratulate myself on my stick-to-ativeness. It is a rare occurrence, I assure you. So, go me. Yes, I realize I didn’t write every day…cut me some slack people!

I have to be honest and say that there were some days where I looked at my computer and wondered what I might write about because I was not really feeling it. Mmmm, Zippy comes to mind here. But, I had the intention of writing. And knowing that there are always things to be thankful for, even if you are not really feeling it, I managed to write. It’s a whole philosophy I subscribe to called “Fake It Till You Make It.” Try it out sometime.

That is not to say I am a “fake” person. If you know me in real life, you know that is far from the truth. I try very hard to be real and also try to surround myself with people who are also “real”.  But there are times when you just aren’t feeling something. And when I say “fake it till you make it” I mostly mean, “Press On and Do It Anyway and Perhaps Your Heart Will Follow and If It Doesn’t, That’s Okay Because You Did What You Needed To Do.” See what I’m saying?

But I digress…

I managed to write and I am glad. For a few reasons.

  1. I was way out of the habit of blogging. And I missed it.
  2. I certainly got in the practice of being thankful and looking for things to be thankful for.
  3. Discipline…something I could always use more of. But that is another month’s worth of blogs.
  4. Not only did I focus on being thankful, but I also was more aware of God’s goodness and mercy to me, my family and those around me.

These things I know for sure:

  • I am incredibly blessed.
  • I have so much to be thankful for. Maybe 30 Days of Thankfulness needs to become EVERY DAY of Thankfulness.
  • God is good. He loves me, even though I don’t deserve it.
  • Thankfulness is a choice; it is essential to living a joy-filled life.
  • And I’m a little sad the 30 days challenge is over, but it has certainly spurred me on to remain thankful. Every day. In every thing.
  • Being thankful is better than the alternative…bitterness and resentment are just not cute on anyone.

Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.  ~1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NLT)

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

2 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 30!

  1. Well, I, for one, am so grateful that you blogged this past month. What a week you’ve had! I am sorry about your guinea pig. I am sorry about your head. But I do love your attitude. Life has its ups and its downs. You seem to handle it all so well. Keep on writing!

    • Well, thank you girl!! Head is finally looking less Cyclops-y. And Clyn put a carrot stick on Zippy’s grave the other day. He was a good little buddy. We are all adjusting…still expect to see him when I come down the stairs in the morning. It is weird.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

