30 Days of Thankfulness-Days 25, 26, 27 & 28 or The Facts of Life Theme Song

Happy Cyber Monday, y’all! I am not currently doing any online shopping, but probably should be…I need to get cracking! I already “missed out” on Black Friday. <insert faux sad face here>  (Could they find a better name for that day?  I mean, really. I find it quite off-putting, not to mention, depressing.) Seriously, though, I choose not to participate in the madness that is Black Friday.  I have gone twice in my life, I do believe. Once with my sis-in-law, Amy, who is a Black Friday devotee and once by my own self when I had a particular mission in mind, but other than that, I do try to avoid the crazy. I must say, I prefer a more relaxed shopping experience.

We had a wonderful time visiting with all our family over the long weekend. First, with my family and then, with my in-laws. We ate till our heads nearly popped off and our stomachs exploded. Which is wrong, I know, but it was yummy.

  • I always find the time with my people is too short, but I am also so very grateful to have any time with them at all.  We used to live so far away from our peeps that is was difficult to make the trip for both Thanksgiving and Christmas, so we would usually forego the Thanksgiving trip. I am so thankful to live close enough now to do BOTH! Yeah!
  • Honestly, I am thankful today to be in one piece.
  • I am also thankful that my sister-in-law is a physical therapist.

At some point between last Thursday and Friday afternoon, I managed to jack up my back somehow.  I am not exactly sure what I did, but suddenly it was like I was really old or something.  I could barely stand up straight. I was thinking, “I am too young for this.” But clearly, that is not true, because there I was having to let my nearly 83 year old mother-in-law bend over to put the leash on my dog!  I just seems wrong to be letting that happen, y’all.  Yeah, embarrassing, I know. If I needed (more) inspiration to lose weight, this certainly was a light bulb moment.  My flabby abs are needing some firming up. I am thinking my back would appreciate some support…any support at all. So I am working toward that end. My sister-in-law, a physical therapist, managed to work on my back a little and give me some things to do to try to help, but dang.  I do not have time to be down with my back. I have life to do. Shopping, laundry, Christmas decorating, school, cleaning, walking up and down stairs, etc.

For a person who does not like to ask for help, it makes for unpleasant times.

Then, if my back being all jacked up was not enough, Jacob and I were standing behind The Edge on Saturday with the hatch back open getting stuff out of the back and Jacob decided to go ahead and close it up. Sadly, my head was still in the way. Needless to say, my ailing back now has a big old goose egg on my head as an accessory. On a bright note, it did make me forget about my back for a moment. Poor Jacob felt so bad. I am pretty sure he did not mean to nearly knock me unconscious.

The irony of this is that about 10 years ago, I slammed the hatch back door of our Subaru Legacy wagon down on my SIL’s head and I have been paranoid about that ever since. Not paranoid enough apparently.

As a consolation prize, I was notified yesterday on the way back home that I won a door prize from an art show that my MIL and SIL and I went to on Saturday! I never win anything! So yay!

So, we’ve had the bad and the good and the bad and the good here over these last few days. ♪♫ You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have the facts of life.. ♫♪ Mostly good with a bit of pain and a smattering of sad. (It was hard to arrive home last night to Zippy’s things, and no Zippy.) But overall, a wonderful time with family.

And that is truly what it is all about.

3 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

3 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Days 25, 26, 27 & 28 or The Facts of Life Theme Song

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 29 or Cyclops’ Revenge | red van ramblings

  2. Wow, girl! I don’t even know what to respond to first! So, I’ll just randomly jump in…

    First, I DID brave “Black Friday” with my SIL. She loves it SO much and we never spend time together, so I said to heck with my aversion to shopping and craziness and braved it with her. And you know, other than a few hairy moments in Belks in Morehead City, it wasn’t so bad. We decided to hit the touristy shops on Front Street Beaufort instead and they were WAY less crowded and WAY more pleasant. We ended up having a BLAST! And towards the end, the Bro, The Mama, and Miss Ruby (the elderly lady we’ve adopted as our grandmother now that both of ours are gone) came and joined us. We ended up at Clawson’s restaurant for sweet tea, seafood bisque, and sammies for lunch. And that’s what I call WINNING! 🙂

    Now, seriously, my Sister, you MUST take care of yourself. You know how to do it. If encouragement is what you need, you know where I am. 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

