30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 18

It’s Friday! Woot! Woot!

  • I am so thankful that it is Friday.

I don’t know about y’all, but around my casa, we do celebrate the end of the week. Time was, when Jacob was in public school, I would wake him up on Friday mornings by singing the Friday song (Rebecca Black has nothing on me) and doing the Friday dance. We over-emphasized the Happy Day because Jacob hated school so very much. It was my way of saying, “Yay, you made it through another week. Congrats.”

We still enjoy Friday around here, but we don’t necessarily feel the need to sing and dance about it in order to overcompensate for our dislike for the rest of the week.  In fact, we like the rest of the week just fine now, thank ya verra muuch.

  • I am thankful for my son, the rescuer of lizards.

So I’m in the kitchen, right? There are various dishes on the counter that I am fixin’ to load into the dishwasher. I lift up a bowl and BAM! there is one of these guys looking up at me:

Green Anole Lizard

Now, I have had experiences with lizards before. And I see them around my house all the time…only on the OUTSIDE. But I am not going to lie, I screamed out like I was being punked on that show Scare Tactics! Or like when I rode that hang glider ride at the fair a couple of weeks ago. 

It looks like this: Except when I rode it, I looked like this (yellow shirt guy):Why? Because I do not like rides that leave the ground. But because I love my children and wanted to show them how awesome and brave I am, I rode that thing.  And after Jacob and the Hubby begged me to open my eyes (while we were at the highest point), I did. And then proceeded to SCREAM out!  Loud. It was sad.  I was the only person screaming on this nice gentle ride.

But back to the lizard:

Shocked the heck outta me, it did! Here at my house, we subscribe to the Two Cup Capture and Release method. Frankly, today I just wasn’t up to it. So, who you gonna call? Jacob, that’s who.  That’s right.  Jacob comes in there, grabs a couple of plastic cups, scoops up our friend and sends him on his merry way. I am sure he was as glad to get out of here as we were glad for him to be gone!

So, here’s to Friday. And Lizards. And Scary Fair Rides. I am thankful for them all.

4 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

4 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 18

  1. BWAHAHAHAHAHA! Girl, you would NOT have gotten me on that ding dang ride! Nuh-uh! As much as I love to fly in an airplane, you ain’t getting my feet off the ground in anything less!

    • See, I am glad you understand. I even hate the chair lift because my feet are just dangling! I can take a roller coaster better than the chair lift because my feet are touching something. My family thinks I am total nut job.

  2. I guess I can feel good about myself, because I’m only scared of seriously dangerous things like aliens and zombies. Though, I will admit to you Joell, that when I was six, I slept with a knife because lizards were known to make their way into our house. I accidentally cut myself. And then I wasn’t scared of lizards anymore. I was scared of knives and blood.

    Happy, happy Friday!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

