30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 17

Seventeen days running I have managed to post here.  That must be some kind of record! At least, for me. So, go me.

A few thankful thoughts today:

  • I am glad that the days of big hair are over.  Nowadays I get get up, wash and GO.  Back in the day, there were perms, mousse, hot rollers, curling irons and hair spray. Had to get those bangs juuust right. Suffice it to say, bigger is NOT always better. Nevermind the fact that I just do not have the time for all that mess anyway.

BIG HAIR, 1988

  • Let me also add to that my gratitude that shoulder pads, stirrup pants and safety pins as a fashion accessory have also left the scene. They were cool for about five minutes, but that was all.
  • I am thankful for breakfast for dinner.   I love it!
  • I love that my kids love books like I do. That is good to me.
  • I am thankful for technological advances in communication so that I can sit here and listen to Emma happily Skype with her BFF Beth who moved to Texas over the summer. I remember all those moves we made as I was growing up, leaving friends who I would never see again. Yeah, there was snail mail, but it was not the same as laying eyes on your peeps!
  • I am (again) so grateful for how hard my Sweetie works, even though he is currently in a situation that he does not totally love. I appreciate his willingness to work so hard for our family.
  • I am excited about going to go see my parents, grandparents, siblings, nieces and nephews and in-laws!  I am so thankful that we live close enough to be able to go spend time with them.  Five hours compared to Twenty-four hours is a Sunday afternoon cruise! Love it!
  • Okay, now I am thankful for stalking Emma while she was Skyping Beth and getting to see and talk to my sweet friend Torri (Beth’s mom)!!  What a treat!  I miss that girl. I don’t care what the legal system says, Stalking Pays.

Okay, people, that is all.  Until tomorrow…

“Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal.  It’s a way to live.”  ~Attributed to Jacqueline Winspear

6 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

6 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 17

  1. wait…so stirrup pants are not cool? I kid. But really.
    I was trying to tuck my jeans into my boots the other day and I thought to myself, “I wonder whatever happened to stirrup pants?”
    Have I mentioned how much I love your thankful posts? And also, have I mentioned how thankful I am that you are posting regularly? : )

    • Thank you,girl. Making myself post every day has been challenging, I’m not gonna lie. But I am enjoying it…therapeutic and whatnot, ya know. By the way, your adoption trifecta was amazing. I really think you should write a book.

  2. Word! You know I love me some Skype! And I wish we’d had that back in the midst of our “seventy-eleven” moves. You know what I’m sayin’? Yay for the opportunity to catch up using Social Media NOW, though. 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

