30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 15

  • I am ever so thankful for the internet—specifically, my friends Google and Facebook and WordPress.  They definitely make life more fun….and they probably make me more lazy, but hey…

More fun, in that, I have reconnected with some great people. More lazy, in that, I have probably forgotten how to use an encyclopedia to look up any important research-y type information.

Oh, how I wish I had thought of that. The internet, I mean.  Or any number of various other things out there.

Man, I keep waiting for my million dollar idea to hit me.  Do y’all ever feel that way? I see all this stuff when I go out and about and I’m like, DANG, why didn’t I think of that?  I am an intelligent woman, for goodness’ sake!

Those Jibbitz things, for example. You know those little doo-dads that were all the rage a couple of years ago that are for decorating your Crocs. That woman developed them in her basement and then sold her business to the Crocs people for a bajillion dollars.

Or what about those Redneck wine glasses? Have you seen them? They are basically Mason jars atop a glass candlestick. But hey, they are 10 bucks a pop. Somebody is making some money off of those things!

Hey, I didn’t say the million dollar ideas were necessarily useful, did I?!

And Velcro! Man, oh, man, if I’d have only thought of Velcro, I’d be living in Beverly Hills with a cement pond in the backyard.

Oh well! There is time for me to have my million dollar idea, yet.

  • I am thankful for old Doctor Who episodes.
  • I am thankful for being able to share the cheesy Doctor Who love with my boy!

<Hollaaaah to my nerdy friends!>

Doctor Who is a BBC produced science fiction television show. The early episodes are full of cheesy dialogue and lame special effects, but I think that is why I love them. I remember watching it in the early to mid-80s on PBS.  I had seen videos available to borrow at our local library and thought it was something Jacob would enjoy, but he did not seem too excited about it. But when we gave a ride home to a classmate of Jacob’s last week, he mentioned liking the show and talked about it a bit and guess what…now Jacob was interested! We borrowed some episodes from the library and he is hooked. It has been fun watching the old episodes with him and hearing that awesome synthesized theme song again. Good times.

Doctor Who Theme Song

 

“Nostalgia is like a grammar lesson:  you find the present tense, but the past perfect!”  ~Owens Lee Pomeroy

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

I always love hearing from you! :-)

