30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 14

The fact that we are nearly halfway through November is starting to freak me out a little bit! I am feeling like it is going by in too much of a hurry. It is hard for me to start thinking about the holidays, but now it seems like every other commercial I see is Christmas related and, OH, I saw a house one night last week fully decked out and lit up in all its Christmas glory. Not. Kidding. So, there it is. Can’t avoid it. Ready or not, here it comes!

Today is a Monday, post friend visit kinda day, so I have found it a bit of a challenge to get motivated today, but I know that if I fail to post something today, 30 Days of Thankfulness could become only 13 Days of Thankfulness,  and that would just be turrble! That is Southern for terrible. I am determined to do this this thang, y’all! Dang it!

Now then,

  • I am so very thankful for Darren, Emma’s physical therapist, who pushes her and challenges her to work hard and go beyond her comfort zone. He always tries very hard to mix things up to keep her from getting bored, but still manages to achieve the desired outcome. Plus, he totally puts up with my craziness!
  • I am thankful for the sweet girl, Eula, who works the desk, the phones, the files, the washer and dryer and whatever else, there, and is so pleasant always. No matter how swamped she is.
  • I am thankful for the other patients at PT who are working so hard and who we see week in and out making progress right along with Emma. Makes you feel like you are on some kind of team or something.

Darren has a good read on Emma’s personality and he has her do things that she isn’t so sure she can do.  But she can.  And she is making great progress!  She has been off crutches for over a month now and then, today, well, TODAY, she JUMPED off a box in therapy! I am not going to lie, I got a little verklempt seeing her do it for the first time—knowing she was scared, but also knowing she had it in her! It is so awesome to see her progress.  And it is even more exciting to see her recognize her progress. She is gonna be running in no time! Woot!

  • I am thankful for kids who get along (most of the time) and who like each other (most of the time).

Right now, I am listening to them laughing together about something and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside! It is not something I hear every day around here.  Usually it’s, “Jacob stoooop!” or “Emmaaaaa!!” So, it’s nice when they change it up a bit!

Not bad for a Monday, eh?

“God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today.  Have you used one to say “thank you?””  ~William A. Ward

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Emma

2 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 14

  1. You are doing good girl! I love the particular gratefulness of this day. Go Emma! Sounds like she will be ready for softball season…? 😉

    • Thank you, girl! I am a-tryin’! And, yes! I do hope she will be ready for softball season–registration starts in January. And she really does want to play, although, she says she will not be sliding ever again. LOL

I always love hearing from you! :-)

