30 Days of Thankfulness-Days 12 & 13

So, I am behind a day…but for good reason!

  • I am so thankful for lifelong friends who are willing to drive a ways to see you for the weekend!!

We have had such fun this weekend and I am so thankful that my sweet friend, Kristi, was willing to make a road trip to SC to see me!  She and her daughter, Sarah, of my most famous post ever, came down for a girls’ weekend.  There was a lot of shopping, laughing, Wii playing, and eating.

It is so good to just sit back and relax with people who you don’t have to clean house for. Who you have known forever and who you have such a comfort level with. Who you just pick up with wherever you left off the last time you talked. Do y’all know what I am saying?

Kristi is my BFF since 10th grade.  I am pretty sure our friendship was solidified in Spanish class at NPHS. Muchas gracias, Sra. Acevez! We developed one of those stay up talking all night long spill your guts deep convos kind of friendships. We shared our deepest secrets and were inseparable for several years.  Even when I moved away the summer before our senior year, we still managed to remain close.  We spoke on the phone every Sunday, we wrote letters, and then my Dad flew her up to where we lived to surprise me once. Sadly, there was no Skype, texting or email back in the day! But no matter! She was my maid of honor at my wedding, and I was her matron of honor.  We have children who are basically stair steps and who are all friends. It is a blessing to have such friendship.

Kristi is a hard working kindergarten teacher. She loves her job and she is good at it. She works hard at her church. She works hard for her family at home. She does not whine, complain or make excuses about anything. She is a real go-getter tell it like it is kinda girl. And I like that.  I often wish I was more like her.

We don’t get to talk as often as we’d like and we definitely don’t get to visit as often as we’d like, but when we do, it is always good. She laughs at the ridiculous things I say and do and she would definitely tell me if I had any glick between my teeth.  She is a true friend.

“The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.”  ~Elisabeth Foley

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Friends

I always love hearing from you! :-)

