30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 6

So, having a teen driver in the house can be, well, a tad bit stressful…okay, incredibly stressful.

  • I am really thankful that my man is the main driving teacher at my house.
  • I mean, immensely thankful.

June July '11 002Jacob got his driver’s permit in January of this year. I have driven with him some, but the majority of driving instruction has been done by my Hubby. I get so freaked out!

How in the WORLD did my parents do it? (Believe me, I have asked myself that question many times in my parental life, not just about this.)  I mean, when Jacob is behind the wheel, I am sitting there white-knuckling the seat of the car like I am on the biggest, baddest, scariest, most rickety roller coaster known to man!  My body is so tensed up, I’ve got a crick in my neck when I get out of the car! I am surprised there is not a hole in the floorboard of the passenger’s side from my stomping of the  imaginary breaks.  I find myself pressing into the floor and saying, with increasing panic, “Break, BREAK, BREAAAAKKKK!!!”

So. Stressful.

Does that ever go away?? 

So, let me just re-state, for the record, how much I appreciate that Clyn takes that on and takes Jacob out to practice his driving, because, y’all, my nerves just can’t take it!

“Adolescence is a period of rapid changes.  Between the ages of 12 and 17, for example, a parent ages as much as 20 years.”  ~Author Unknown

P.S.

  • I am thankful for Daylight Savings Time and an extra hour of sleep this morning.
  • I am thankful for leisurely breakfasts of cheese biscuits and turkey bacon  that my sweet Hubby cooks for us.
  • I am thankful for re-runs of The Brady Bunch and that liquid gold that most folks simply call “coffee”.

It truly is the simple things, y’all!

Until tomorrow…Be thankful!

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Jacob

I always love hearing from you! :-)

