30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 3

“Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” ~William Arthur Ward

Three years ago, we found ourselves in a position to be home schooling our son. It has been an amazing time of growth and challenge—for Jacob and for me.

In August of this year, I found myself in a position to teach a science class at our local home school co-op. Another one of those “opportunities to grow”.

  • I am thankful for opportunities that stretch me and force me to tackle, head-on, things that challenge me and frighten me.

Neither of these things are “opportunities” I would have ever chosen for myself. However, they presented themselves and I embraced them—reluctantly. And guess what?  I am really loving it! 

I firmly believe that God put home schooling in our lives.  It has been the best thing for Jacob and for our whole family. I also believe that God allowed me to teach that class.  I look forward to it each week and am so excited to see a) how it will go (sometimes things don’t always work like they are supposed to!) and b) how the kids make those learning connections.

If I had said NO to either of these things because of my own fears or insecurities…wow, what blessings I would have missed!

  • I am thankful for dirty laundry, because that means we have plenty of clothes to wear and a husband and children who wear them.
  • I am thankful for a home that needs cleaning, because that means I have a roof over my head and a warm bed to sleep in.
  • I am thankful for dishes that need washing, because that means we have food to eat.
  • I am thankful for dirty toilets, because that means I have indoor plumbing! (Thank You, Lord!)

Often I am so whiney about these chores! Seriously.  I hate housework. With a purple passion! I would much rather be, mmm, blogging, spending time with my family or watching some mindless tv. Give me a marathon of Criminal Minds before a reeking pile of teen boy laundry ANY day!

But I heard a woman share something one time that gave me a new perspective on home chores, specifically, laundry. (Blech!) She said as she washed and folded her laundry, she prayed for the person who wore that piece of clothing. She saw her home chores as opportunities to turn mundane, common housework into a time of prayer and thanksgiving. I wish I could remember to do that every time I do laundry…it would really change the whole experience.

  • I am thankful for my grandma’s pound cake recipe and kids who are willing to hang with me in the kitchen.

Fun in the kitchenSounds like a silly thing to be thankful for, but last Friday, I decided to make a pound cake for my Sweetie for our anniversary.  It is labor intensive, but, oh so worth it.  It is usually reserved for special occasions in our home.  The recipient is well aware of the labor of love this cake is.  What was fun about it, and what I really appreciated about making it this time, was the fun the kids and I had making it together. We made yummy pound cake and some memories. And I am so thankful!

Until tomorrow—Be thankful!

3 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness

3 responses to “30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 3

  1. Also… You have been tweeted. 🙂

  2. I love it, Joell! Great perspectives today!

    Incidentally, I came into our office this morning, which is going through a hectic renovation and was immediately frustrated by the mess and chaos around me. The Bishop’s wife came in and read me her morning’s devotion and we had a sweet little time reminding each other that we can’t control what’s going on around us, but we can choose whether or not to accept it with grace. So, today, I’m taking it one minute at a time and choosing not to get frustrated with the things I can’t control. And instead of being frustrated that the ripped out my phone line, I’m going to be THANKFUL for the quiet that phonelessness provides. 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

