Cheese Puff

So, there’s a little more laughter around my house today.  It isCheese Puff 5/12/11 music to my exhausted ears and joy for my soul. Eight days post-injury, there are still moments of pain, frustration and self-pity for Emma, but they are few—as they have been all along. I have always been a firm believer in the adage that laughter is the best medicine, but the last week has made it more true than ever.

Crushers Sock! 5/13/11A lengthy trip to the orthopedist yesterday ended with a new friend, Richard, the awesome cast guy (LOVE him!) and a mid-thigh orange cast, which we had at first nicknamed Big Orange .  However, when my brother saw a photo of it, all he could say was, “That is like the biggest cheese puff I’ve ever seen.”  We could not. stop. laughing.  It has been Cheese Puff ever since.  Initially, Emma wanted a purple cast because purple is her favorite color.  Then Jacob suggested that she make it orange with purple dots to match her softball socks.  Emma thought it was a great idea and so did I…and you can see the results in the photo.  We invited Emma’s BFF Beth over to help decorate it!  Craft time!  Wooo!

Jacob has been so great through all of this.  He has helped with the wheelchair and getting her in and out of the house when Daddy isn’t home.  He has tried to make Emma laugh. He has run upstairs for various items for me.  He’s been awesome.  Bragging, I know.  But they both have been so great through this ordeal.  Not to mention how awesome my husband is.  He has missed work and slept downstairs as often as I have in order to be near Emma should she need anything during the night. This thing it truly a team effort. You begin to get in your groove and the routine of what the new “normal” is and things do get easier. God is gracious.

In other news…who am I kidding? Pretty much there is no other news.  Life is basically consumed with managing Emma’s most urgent need. And that is okay. There is nowhere else I’d rather be.

“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.” ~e.e. cummings

“But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.” Psalm 86:15

3 Comments

Filed under Emma, Family

3 responses to “Cheese Puff

  1. Pingback: The Comeback. Day 4 | red van ramblings

  2. DON’T DO IT!!! Start a cast decoration component to your artwork instead! 😉

  3. How have I missed all these posts? The orange cast with the purple dots? Makes me want to go out and break my own leg.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

