Peas…more useful than you think.

Emma's Camera 384

I think I have reverted back to my sleep-deprivation-auto-pilot-mode days.  I can’t remember being so out of my mind since I had a 3 year old and a newborn.  And basically everything has been one big ole blur since last Thursday.

What happened last Thursday, you ask?  As you may have guessed by looking at the photo, someone has broken their leg. That someone is my girl Emma.

We were just starting the second half of the season for the Crushers. The girls were first at bat and were up 6-0.  Emma was on third.  There’s the hit, Emma runs toward home, sliiiiiides and SNAP.  My baby has snapped both her tibia and her fibula in her left leg. That alone is traumatic. 

But top it off with the fact that the next day was her 13th birthday and she is supposed to be going on a trip to Disneyworld with her 7th grade class on the 18th of this month and it makes for a doozie of an evening.

In spite of all that, she was an amazing trooper.  She was in tremendous pain but she was so brave.  I just couldn’t even believe it.  I was thinking that had it been ME lying up on that hospital bed I would have been screaming like a little baby.  She was asking in the ambulance, “Mom, can you find out what the score is?”  Oh my.  The child wanted to know the score??  I would have been asking, “Can you hook a sista up with some more of that happy juice you got there??”

Then followed x-rays and splinting and hardly enough morphine.  Pain. A trip to the 24 hr pharmacy.  Interesting journey from car to house to bed.  Medication.  And then fitful sleep. That was only the first night.

Oh, and don’t get me started on toileting!  Oy. 

Now, some things to be thankful for:

– Our strong, beautiful, brave daughter who will heal.

– My sweet hubby who has had to miss some work and who is such a great daddy helping with his baby girl.

– An assistant coach and his wife who are an EMT and an ER nurse respectively, who jumped immediately into medical mode at the game and allowed me to just be the mom comforting her injured child. Then, they came to the hospital and stayed with us the whole time we were there and then helped load Emma into the car when we were discharged.

– Sweet, caring coaches,teammates, family and friends who have texted, emailed, visited and called…and brought Emma her most favorite treats: root beer and Mike N Ikes.

– The wonderfully kind and gentle ambulance guys and staff at our local ER.

– There are only 3 weeks left in the school year.  Who wants to be lugging around a bum leg for at least 8 weeks of school in a building that does NOT have an elevator and DOES have lots of stairs. May I also mention here how great and accommodating Emma’s school is. Love them.

– Good drugs.

– Much improved pain and Emma’s determination to be independent.  She really wants to go on that Disney trip.

– Frozen vegetables.  They are more useful than you might think!

– Good drugs.  (Bears repeating.)

There are so many more things but those are the biggies.

Let me also say that I think we could all benefit from partaking of a little Lortab, my friends. That is some good stuff right there.

So we are off to see the orthopedist in a couple of days.  We are praying for bones that have positioned themselves in the right place so that we can cast that baby! Meanwhile, we are figuring out new ways of accomplishing every day things.  And getting to spend lots of time together.  Which I do love.

So, stock up on those frozen peas, because you never know when you are going to need them.

OH, and by the way, Emma was safe at home plate and her team went on to win the game! So I guess that makes breaking your leg worth it.  A little.

11 Comments

Filed under Emma, Family, Friends, Kids

11 responses to “Peas…more useful than you think.

  1. Pingback: The Comeback. Day 4 | red van ramblings

  2. Pingback: Surfing and Jesus | red van ramblings

  3. Pingback: Life and Peace | red van ramblings

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 16 | red van ramblings

  5. Pingback: Fantastic Fall or 30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 1 | red van ramblings

  6. Wow. Really just about made me cry reading this. What a great support system you guys have. And I am so impressed with your daughter. I would have been screaming and vowing never to play softball again. I really hope she has fun at Disney World!

  7. Lisa Murray

    We feed frozen peas to the crayfish for our science unit! They are more useful than you think! Love to the Morris family and please know we are praying for all of you!

  8. Amy

    So sorry this had to happen to your sweet Emma. I am so thankful your her mother. I don’t know alot of people who could find so much good out of such a bummer of a situation. I am so thankful I had to the good fortune to live across the street from you for a time. I miss you a bunch and wish there were more kind sweet mother’s out there in this world. It would be a nicer place if there were. 🙂

    Hope she heals and is off to Disney soon!!!

    Amy

I always love hearing from you! :-)

