Peace, be still.

Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion.  I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward.  ~Kurt Vonnegut

This has always been one of my favorite quotes. I prefer laughing to crying, like our friend Kurt Vonnegut.  Crying is just so messy, but somehow I cannot help myself at times. I am the person crying at the Hallmark commercials, all the Lifetime movies, Disney movies and Parenthood episodes. Remember those Folgers coffee commercials where the guy is coming home from the army or some unknown far off place, and he brews some coffee to wake up and surprise his mama?  Yeah, that makes me cry too.  And I cry when the National Anthem is sung. FACT: I am a crier. And I have even been known to lapse into the full on “ugly cry”.  Not pretty, my friends, not. at. all.

I woke up today to  all the bad news on the TV.  Such a bummer.  I am so weary of all the crazy in the world…potential government shut down, nuclear reactors about to blow sky high in Japan, some 8 year old kid pepper-sprayed by the Po-Po at his own school, earthquakes and tsunamis, bank robberies and murders, unemployment and inflation.  All the death and destruction of this world proves to be overwhelming to me at times.  And I just feel myself wanting to shut down. And cry.

SIDEBAR: The only real bright spot on Good Morning America this morning seemed to be some commentary on Dancing With the Stars, which we very much enjoy at our house.  Apparently, Wendy “How YOU doin’?” Williams was given her walking papers last night.  Her comment was “if DWTS were a personality contest, I would have won it hands down”.  How YOU doin’? I would have to agree.  I enjoy her immensely. The best dancer though?  Um, no. My personal faves are Kirstie Alley, Ralph “Daniel-san” Macchio , and Hines Ward.

Anyway.

After the morning news, and as Emma and I were rushing out the door to school, I received news that a dear lady, a life-long  friend of my husband’s family and essentially a family member, passed away overnight.  It was not unexpected. It frees her from her painful earthly body.  And though I do not mourn as one without hope, it just has made me feel so truly sad today. SIGH.

I hate to be such a downer, but I’m just being real today. I’d be lying if I didn’t confess to asking at times, “God, where are you in all of this??”  But I know the answer.  He is here.  He is merciful. He is in our midst and only He is our comfort and our confidence.  He tells us to be strong and courageous.  He tells us we can trust Him.  He tells us we can cast our cares on Him.  He tells us we can find rest and peace in Him. And that is what I must do in the times when the world seems to be going crazy…and me along with it!  If you listen, you can hear Him saying to us, as He said to the sea, “Peace, be still.”

Today I choose to focus on the life I have and my family and the precious relationships God has brought into my life.  I choose to know the peace of God that passes all understanding and rest in His promises.

“Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope.”          1 Thessalonians 4:14 (NIV)

“And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.

And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?

And they feared exceedingly, and said one to another, What manner of man is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?” Mark 4:39-41 (KJV)

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Friends, Inspiration, Lessons

2 responses to “Peace, be still.

  1. Sister, you know I am right there, huggin’ the Kleenex box with you! I am also a crier and quite often, an UGLY crier! But I thank God for that outlet to release my fears and worries and burdens and anger and frustration to Him. He accepts tears. In fact, He collects them in a bottle…

    Love you, love you, love you! And you know where I am if you find yourself needin’ a hug!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

