I get by with a little help from my friends (and some Advil).

The difference between try and triumph is a little umph.  ~Author Unknown

 

Just a little piece of advice…don’t do a 10K without training properly for it, but DO do a 10K with your hubby and your friend, because that makes all the post-race pain totally worth it! bridgerun5

The Cooper River Bridge Run bridgerun1was this past Saturday, my second year of participation.  Last year was fun and a great accomplishment, as well as a great time with some great friends.  This year, I started out in January with great intentions of being fully prepared for this run and planning to beat my time from last year (HA!). Somewhere between February and March I lost my mojo and found other things besides training to do with my time.  I figured, no biggie, we’ll just walk the majority of it.  No problem, right? 

Let’s just say I am fortunate to have finished the race without falling out somewhere along the course.  My dear friend, Lisa, and I  pretty much walked the entire race.  Oh, we managed to run the last .2 miles so we could say we “ran” across the finish line, but our lack of training didn’t lend itself to much running, sad to say.  However, I have to say that I enjoyed the actual “racing” part more this year, because as we walked, I was able to enjoy the sights (oh, and there were some sights!!) and sounds of the race instead of me just staying “in my head” in order to keep myself focused on my breathing and pressing on with the business of running.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love the satisfaction I get after finishing aIMAG0424 run, but walking is much less stressful. And don’t think that just because we were enjoying the scenery that we were doing any sashaying along those 6.2 miles!  We were booking it!  We finished in about 1 hour 42 minutes, which isn’t too far off of my running time of 1 hour 24 minutes from last year.  By the way, Hubby managed to stick with his training and finished in 1 hour and 17 minutes.  He ran most of the way. I am so proud of him! (Go Sweetie!) And I am so proud of Lisa and me too! 

Lisa and I were some hurting units afterwards. Clyn tried to act like he was not hurting though. I could barely move yesterday. Suffice it to say that Advil was my friend.  That will teach me.  A little preparation goes a long way. I’ve got time to prepare for the next one though. Next Cooper River Bridge Run happens March 31, 2012.  I’ll be ready.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Health and wellness

2 responses to “I get by with a little help from my friends (and some Advil).

  1. Hey JoMama, I’ll come run/walk it with you next year! But I’m not as cute as Clyn. 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

