Celebrate good times, come on!

“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”  ~Marcel Proust

I am so fortunate to have so many people who make my soul blossom. 

One of them is my Grandma.  We celebrated my grandma’s 90th birthday by throwing her a surprise party…which is a risk at her age, because you want her to be surprised, but not TOO surprised, if you know what I mean.  She was thrilled, as I knew she would be.  Her expression was priceless.

In this shot, she is pointing at all of us and then saying “Liar!” in our ears as we all hugged her.  It was quite hilarious.  We did have to tell a few lies to make it all come together.  But, hey, it was for a good cause, no? 

There were so many people who came out to honor Grandma.  Her brother, now her only living sibling (there were nine of them originally), was there.  My brothers and I met cousins we never knew we had.   And there were tons of her church family there as well. 

And there was cake!  Doesn’t get much better than that!

It was a bit of a whirlwind trip though.  We left Friday afternoon and returned Sunday afternoon and the kids started back to school today. Are these the faces of stressed children?  I think not.

    

I find it a little distressing that I am the mother of a 10th grader and a 7th grader.  I was just 21 the other week, right?  They are growing up too fast, but I am loving the people they are becoming. Here’s to another great school year!

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “Celebrate good times, come on!

  1. Joell

    The "chucks", as we call them, are quite the thing to have…apparently. I never had a pair myself. When I was Emma\’s age, the shoe to have was the white canvas nikes with the blue swoosh. Em of course went with the purple, which is her "color du jour". Jacob could care less. LOL. Get you some red chucks girl!! You will be looking all fly. And your daughter will roll her eyes and stuff. It would be awesome!

  2. Joell

    My Grandma has some good DNA!! It is pretty amazing how she does not look 90. My mom made the cupcakes out of my Grandma\’s famous sour cream pound cake recipe and then my SIL decorated them with a squirt of frosting and some flowers she made out of gum paste. They were very pretty and quite tasty! The larger cake was just yellow cake decorated by my SIL with buttercream. We never even cut into that one.

  3. Toni

    Your grandmother absolutely does not look 90 years old. And can you please describe the kind of cake you guys had?Love the pics of Emma and Jacob. Gosh, does every kid have to have the converse sneakers? Is it weird that I\’m starting to want some red ones really bad?

I always love hearing from you! :-)

