…10 months later…

So yeah, it’s really been 10 months since I’ve posted.  Honestly, I thought it had been longer and I had been procrastinating actually looking to see just how long it had been just because, well, I don’t know why…

I’ve wondered if I would still have anything to say.  I’ve wondered if I did say anything, would anyone be interested.  Mostly, life has been pretty overwhelming and I just haven’t felt like I’ve had the time to ponder what to write about.  Really I have no good excuse. 

The last 10 months have been busy, interesting, sad, wonderful, chaotic, and exciting.  You could just call me schizophrenic and be done with it, I suppose, but then you would be prevented from knowing what brought all that schizo-ness on. 

Pretty much, my life has been ruled by homeschooling Jacob…which mostly falls into the busy, chaotic, wonderful and interesting categories.  He and I both learned a lot.  I learned, er, re-learned, algebra.  He learned what it felt like to be successful and believe in himself.  Along the way, we found an amazing doctor to help us navigate that path…and I say “us” because when you have a child who lives with autism, you are really a family who lives with autism and you ALL need help!  Jacob has learned to manage his noise sensitivity this past year in a way I never thought possible.  It has been an amazing transformation and a joy to watch.  God is good.

The sad category hit us in January when my hubby lost his dadafter many years of declining health. Though it was not unexpected, it was difficult.  Though it was difficult, it was a blessing that a man who had suffered for so long would no longer have to suffer.  How I did love that man.

Summer has been busy, full of family time.  We’ve been on the road quite a bit.  Nothing quite like spending quality time in the family vehicle.  A little shout out goes here for that Podunk, SC cop who made my summer complete by ticketing me for speeding through his handy dandy little town-budget-supporting-speed-trap.  Thanks buddy!  You are awesome.  I really was hoping to be able to find a way to help pay your salary or pay for that jazzy little statue of you they are planning to erect in the town square.  Whichever.

Yes, I’m bitter.

Anyway, moving on…

And now we sit on the cusp of another school year…enter the crazy chaos!

With a rising 10th grader and 7th grader, I find myself wondering how we all got so old.  I also sit here questioning my sanity as I look at homeschooling a 10th grader.  I mean, who do I think I am??  Really.

(Who DO I think I am?  It’s a good question, don’t you think? I’ll think about that later.)

I am hoping to post again sooner rather than later.  Until then, I leave you with this thought:

Life is just a bowl of cherries. 

It’s something my dad says a lot.  He’s got the right idea.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Homeschooling, Humor

4 responses to “…10 months later…

  1. Joell

    Trust me, hon, you could do it if you had to! It\’s been a wonderful adventure. Gearing up to start back next week…still lots to do for me to get ready, but I am certainly ready to get back into a routine. Thanks for missing me! 😉

  2. Wahzat

    I missed yaWOW you are homeschooling Jacob that is awesome. I am in awe of you. Considering how you and him were having a rough time of school I am sure you are loving this decision. I wish I had the patience to homeschool my son…giggle though I am not sure my son would appreciate it much either .Hope you get a chance to enter more posts I was beginning to wonder if everything was ok

  3. Joell

    Toni you are so sweet. I have missed writing and I have missed reading everyone else\’s. Just seems life has been so insanely distracting. Hoping to get back in the swing here… As for homeschooling your dog, well, that would be an adventure. Not that homeschooling humans isn\’t…

  4. Toni

    Well, I, for one, am so glad you posted. It really has been a long time–I\’ve missed your blog! What a year this has been for you. I am so sorry to hear about your father-in-law. I am so happy to hear about Jacob. And I hope you do continue to homeschool because you are amazing. I probably couldn\’t even homeschool my dog.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

