Orange you tired of Peanut Butter?

 

 

UGH!  It used to just be the little next door neighbor BOYS that would hang out in our yard, or sometimes just walk in our back door unannounced. They would always be there stalking poor Jacob every time he would carefully and oh-so-quietly slide the back door open.

And now it’s their CAT too???!  OY VEY.

Earlier in the summer, I redid our flower beds in the front of the house laid down some of the stuff that is supposed to repel the weeds and then put some nice mulch out.  It looks quite nice, if I do say so myself.

Well, apparently Peanut Butter, the cat, thinks it’s quite nice too…AS A LITTER BOX!  Not only that, but the cat seems to make himself right at home—under my car, lounging on my driveway, relaxing in my bushes or out in the yard.  I find myself getting more and more annoyed.  Dang, at least the little boys don’t take a dump in my mulch.

SIGH.

Then on Saturday afternoon, I was sitting in the front room of our house, at the computer desk, talking on the phone with my sweet friend Lisa P. (hollaaaa!). All of a sudden, I look out the window and I see him.

Caught him red handed copping a squat in the mulch around the dinky tree in my front yard!

Still on the phone, I bolt out the front door, like a raving lunatic, shouting and shoo-ing the cat in mid squat.  He runs off, of course.  I mean, wouldn’t you if some crazy person was coming at you like that?

I smile in satisfaction at my success, and then, I look up.

A couple of houses down the street, I see three of my neighbors (not the cat owners) have enjoyed the show as well.

You know I DO try to bring joy to my friends and neighbors.  SO embarrassing. Oh well.

I’m not going to lie.  I have had some ill will towards Peanut Butter in recent days.  I even consulted my friend Google on“how to keep cats out of your flower bed”.  I guess I don’t want to *really* hurt him.  But I do want him to go away.  Sadly, I am too wimpy to go to the neighbors themselves and say, “hey, your cat is a…nuisance”.  I could secretly call animal control.  But then, I’d feel all guilty.

For now, I’m just putting some orange slices out in the flower bed and around my tree.  Google told me that cats dislike citrus.

I hope Google is right.  Cause, I’d hate for something bad to happen to the kitty.

But, you didn’t hear that from me.

4 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Humor, The 'Hood

4 responses to “Orange you tired of Peanut Butter?

  1. Joell

    Thanks Margaret…it seems my orange slices aren\’t doing the trick. Might have to resort to your tactic or something else…it is driving me CRAZY…If his poo didn\’t smell so bad, I wouldn\’t mind so much! LOL

  2. Margaret

    I can sympathize with you for i\’m having the same trouble with the cat next door! I put little slats with nails unde the soil and that keeps it from digging my flowers and bulbs up. Hope it helps.Margaret

  3. Unknown

    ROFL! Girl, Peanut Butter is just about as bad as my manic squirrels! Bwa-ha-ha-ha!

  4. Toni

    Don\’t get me started on other people\’s pets all up in my space.Glad to see you\’re blogging again–don\’t feel bad about, oh, having a life. Your kids are growing up way too fast for you to be on the computer ignoring them all the time. : )Hope you enjoy the upcoming week at school! Toni

I always love hearing from you! :-)

