The Best Laid Plans

 

The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often askew,
And leaves us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

~from Robert Burns’ poem To A Mouse

 

Today’s plan WAS to include some sort of cleaning/straightening up around the casa.  Somehow that hasn’t yet happened.  Could be the cleats that I had to go all over creation to find for Emma took WAY longer than I had budgeted time-wise.  Now I’m just feeling lazy after a long week.  And what I really want to do is just go lie on the couch and watch the crazy housewives of Atlanta or a marathon of Bridezillas or CSI or some other brainless TV.  Go ahead and laugh, but you know you want to do the same thing.

I spent the majority of today with Emma (who is awesome) and her friend Kayla (who loves the 80s and all it’s music and has a very dry wit—digging that kid!  She knows the lyrics to Prince’s “When Doves Cry”…I’m not kidding!)  They are both 11.  We were shopping around looking for the elusive cleats for Emma.  Softball has started back up and the cleats I bought for her (for seven dollars on clearance) last spring from Wally World don’t fit her anymore??!  I was astounded when she went to put them on last week and they were too tight.  My kids are growing like weeds, I tell you!

I measured Jacob and Emma in mid-June…just a couple of months ago…and Jacob was 5’3 3/4”.  I measured Jacob on Tuesday of this week (we are following his height and weight as part of his PE for school) and he was 5’5”!!!  Okay, let’s do the math people.  That means my child has grown 1 1/4” in 2 months time!  At that rate, he’s going to be like 6’ by next summer!  Keep in mind, his daddy is about 5’8 1/2” on a tall day.  I’m about 5’ 7 1/2” myself, but dang!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad he’s growing.  For a long time, he walked around saying he was going to be a midget (his word, not mine, I realize it is not PC)!   Granted, he stayed the same height for years it seemed!  But now he may very well become the Jolly Green Giant!  Not something I had exactly planned on.  But, hey, you just never know!

I hear the couch calling, so I’m going to answer.  The dishes will get done when they get done!  I have a strong suspicion that they aren’t going anywhere.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Emma, Jacob, Kids

I always love hearing from you! :-)

