Life’s Unexpected Journey

 

“My life has a superb cast but I can’t figure out the plot.”  ~Ashleigh Brilliant

Just as a preface…all summer, I SWORE I’d get back to blog land…I am NOT a quitter, after all.  Obviously, that never happened.  The few readers that would drop by here from time to time may have quit ME though…can’t really blame you.  Some vacay I’ve had.  Last blog was May-something?  Sad, very sad.  No REAL excuse for my absence, just seems like life has gotten in the way.

Moving on.

I have landed at a place in my life where I never thought I would.  In fact, not only did I THINK I never would, I also SAID I never would.  You know how they say that word “never” will come back and bite you in the butt???  Yeah, well, they are right.

As of August 17th, I am the proud mother of a high schooler and a middle schooler.  When I had my babies, and they were my little cuddly, yummy, sweeties, I never spent any time really thinking about the fact that they would actually GROW UP!  I never imagined myself here in this stage of life.  It’s kinda freaked me out a little.

But, occasionally, some speeding, out of control trains are overlooked by our friend Superman, and they speed on toward you with no hope of ever being stopped!

SIGH.

And so here I stand, on the tracks, staring dead in the face of that train as it barrels down the tracks in my direction.

Enough with the analogy already.

SO, Emma has now spent a full week at her new school.  And she is loving it!  SHWEW!  So glad.  She is concerned that she doesn’t really have any friends yet. But I feel sure that is short-lived.  She has handled it all like such a champ.  Do y’all feel my proud mama vibes?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jacob has also spent a full week at his new school.  And so have I.  Because, as it turns out, I am his teacher.  Yes, we have made the head-long jump into the world of homeschooling (AKA the thing I said I’d “never” do).  I never saw it coming—well, not until a few months ago anyway—and yet, here I am.  Here WE are.  Our front room has been transformed into a “schoolroom”, complete with maps, textbooks and whiteboard.  It has been the most exhausting and the most rewarding week I’ve had in years.  No lie.  That kid is one amazing kid.  Can’t wait to see what we learn this year, and I don’t just mean academically.

I’ll keep y’all posted.

3 Comments

Filed under Homeschooling, Kids

3 responses to “Life’s Unexpected Journey

  1. Bill

    Jim is LOTS of things, but "too sweet" isnt one of them. I really like the picture of Jacob though…and you are a saint to homeschool him…I considered homeschooling ours, but decided I didnt want to have to go to an insane asylum. You get big mom points!

  2. Joell

    Awww, Jim! You\’re too sweet! Well, considering Jacob has been playing French horn for 4 years (starting his 5th!), we are well acquainted with the practice deal! I am sure it will be a novelty for a while. I shouldn\’t have to fuss at her to practice until…oh, about December? LOL

  3. Jim

    Some of us have not left you. Good luck with the home schooling. Sounds like your one dedicated Mom. To be honest, the thing I would be most concerned with is sitting in your daughter\’s hands in her picture. A Flute? That means practice. You do know that, right? 😉

I always love hearing from you! :-)

