13 days and counting!

 I am starting to sense that excitement that comes with nearing the end of another school year.  Could be that there are only thirteen days of school left, but who’s counting, right?  Suddenly I have a little more pep in my step.  It is an unexplainable sense of relief. 

People—other mothers—often say to me, “How can you love summer so much?  The kids are out of school and every two words out of their mouths are “I’m bored”.  How can you stand it?”  My answer is, I just love having my kids around.  I like my kids.  Of course I love them, but I sincerely like them as people.  I’m not trying to brag or anything, but I do, in fact, think my kids are the cooliest.  They are hilarious.  Yeah, they have their moments where they get on my nerves, but thankfully, those are few and far between.  They get along with each other extremely well and will often hang out together.  They are really incredible kids.

For example, the other day, my precious Emma made this for me:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She also made this AWESOME bookmark

for me:

I ask you…How well does this kid know me???  I mean look at the adorable little beach bag and the sunglasses hanging off the side.  How cute is that?!  Just out of the blue, for no reason, she made these.  AND she didn’t ask me for anything later! HA HA.  I can’t think of anything extraordinarily spectacular I had done that day to deserve such recognition.  Just the “yooszh” (iCarly terminology for “the usual”…and if you are unfamiliar with iCarly, then you are obviously not getting your quota of Nickelodeon.  Sheesh!  Hop to it, people!).

Jacob is no slacker either.  When we’ve gotten through a lengthy night of homework for example, he’ll always hug me and say, “Thanks for helping me with my homework, Mom.”  It tears my heart out every time.  I look at that kid…that 14 year old precious boy who is getting to be as tall as his mama…and I just want to EAT HIM UP!!  I simply cannot help it.  I’m getting all verklempt just thinking about it…I need a moment…I’ll give you a topic…

Rhode Island is neither a road nor an island.  Discuss.

<deep cleansing breath>

Okay.

To top it all off, they tolerate my incessant singing outbursts and the fact that I make them listen to 80s music.  Not to mention the Friday Dance.  And I honestly think they are only moderately humiliated by my presence.  Which is a good thing…they won’t be shaking me anytime soon!   Muahahahaha!  And, of course, I do see it as my job, nay, my parental responsibility, to do embarrassing things occasionally. 

They are really something, those two.

Now, who wants to ask me how I can stand summer??

 

6 Comments

Filed under Kids

6 responses to “13 days and counting!

  1. Toni

    And a chickpea is neither a chick nor a pea.I know what you mean–we\’re officially on summer break as of today, and I couldn\’t be more relieved. Or happy. Hope you survive the next 2 weeks!

  2. Joell

    I forgive you, Bille. 😉 You are too kind, my friend! I could say the same about you.

  3. Bill

    And I KNOW that Joell is only with one \’e\’, but I got carried away. so sue me 😛

  4. Bill

    Joelle, I really get a kick out of reading your posts about your kids…they are so lucky to have a mom like you who reall \’gets\’ them. You\’re a role model!

  5. Joell

    Girl! Come on down…we could have LOTS and LOTS of fun!!!

  6. Unknown

    Hey, find somebody to run summer camp for me and I\’ll come summer with y\’all! 🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

