Mish Mash

 

 

 

Today commences another year’s standardized testing aka torture.  I know I complain about it a lot, but honestly, I have now decided that it’s not so bad because there is no homework during testing weeks! That’s a BIG “thumbs up” here in mi casa!

Meanwhile, Emma has celebrated her 11th birthday!  So hard to believe.  She is growing up before my eyes…they both are… and turning into such wonderful people.  I really LIKE my children.  I love them like crazy, but I really like them as people.  I like hanging out with them.  They are such cool kids.

There was the obligatory sleepover birthday party.  Complete with going to the pool, making our own pizzas and decorating flip flops.  I think the girls had a good time.  Personally, I was exhausted.  But I’m glad Em was happy.

In other news, thanks to my high school buddy Yvette, I have discovered another cool something here on the world wide web…Pandora Radio.  This is SO COOL!  It is free and you can basically customize your own radio station.  You have to check it out.  I have created an 80s station that I am LOVING.

Life is busy around here.  Emma is playing softball, seems like a lot. But she is having fun.  Their record is currently 3-7, but they have improved tons since their first game.  Think Bad News Bears-ish.  But now they are fielding that ball and getting some hits.  Go Her-icanes!   

Jacob is working hard too…we began the summer countdown a little while ago…back at day 40.  Today is T minus 20 and counting!  We are all SO ready for this year to be over and move toward our homeschool plan for next fall.  He is excited.  And so am I.  Excited but nervous.  I’m not sure how it is all going to look, but I am going to make it work.  I always say that whatever God calls you to do, He equips you to do it.  And there is no other way that I’d be fixing to homeschool except that it is a God thing.  Trust me.  I was one of “those” people who always truly admired those who could homeschool, but I wasn’t one of them.  Well, here I go.  Yes, I hear God (and some of my friends) laughing too.  I’ll keep you posted. 

Emma however, will be going to public school.  She was accepted into a local middle school of the arts.  So, she is really excited about that…in spite of the fact that none of her friends are going.  She says she’ll be lonely; I say, not for long. 

But let’s just get through the next 20 days, eh?  And then breeze on into the summer.  Anybody else out there feeling me on this?? 

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

3 responses to “Mish Mash

  1. Faithfulmom

    Haha! We did the flip flop craft years ago for a sleepover…so cool! What great memories and the exhaustion does fad!

  2. barnyardmama

    I think a LOT about homeschooling Charlie. I\’m not sure, but we\’ll see. I already do lessons with him and I know first-hand how unforgiving school can be for kids with special needs. I think it will be a game-time decision.

  3. Toni

    I just want to get through the next 4 days; after this week all the concerts and recitals and ceremonies and parties and field trips and exams will be over–do teachers get together and say, "Hey you know what would be really funny to do to parents? Is if we scheduled everything within this one week–let\’s aim for 3, say 4 major events per day!"I think you\’re going to be a lot better at homeschooling than you think. Jacob\’s going to do really well. That picture–he looks like he\’s in the Australian outback!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

