Life moves pretty fast…

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” ~Ferris Beuller

My blogging consistency has been suckish at best lately.  Why it has become so NOT the priority is a mystery.  Well, maybe not THAT much of a mystery.  I guess when things are not the greatest around here, I find it difficult, nay, impossible to fake it and make it all look nice and pretty here at the blog!  And I promised myself that the blog would not become a whine-fest.  So, that is why you haven’t heard from me lately.  As my mama used to say, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.”  Didn’t everybody’s mama say that??

But just to try and give you a non-whiney version of the past month’s events, here is the abbreviated version:

8th grade, puberty ridden, wonderful Asperger’s boy.  Suffering endlessly with his noise sensitivity.  Near middle-aged, waaay post puberty, slightly crazy mama.  Not knowing how to fix things.  10 days of Auditory Integration Training, with many prayers offered up begging God to use this to help my son.  It’s one of those “wait and see” deals.  Still praying.  God, are you tired of my begging yet?  Mix in there the need to make decisions about how we will now handle his high school education and the stress THAT induces.  (I’m pretty sure we’re home schooling.)  Additionally, an overwhelming sense of whirling around in circles going to softball games and practice, (Emma is playing for the first time ever and having a blast.) and an inability to feel like I am on top of any home chores AT ALL.  Hubby is uber stressed at his work and I am about convinced that everyone there is insane in the membrane except for him.  He is so fantastic and such a hard worker.  Why can’t they see that?

Blah blah blah.

Now, see?  Aren’t y’all glad I haven’t blogged for a month straight about that mess?

Moving on.

Yes, moving on.  Cause that’s what life does.  It just keeps moving right along and if you don’t keep moving with it, well, you get left in the dust, my friends.

Last night we had terrible thunderstorms here.  I woke up to this:

It’s supposed to look like this:

That’s what the left side of the garage looks like.  Keep in mind, I did not plant these jasmine vines.  They were here when we moved in.  I hate them passionately all year except for right NOW because their fabulous fragrant blooms make me close my eyes and smile and breathe deeply their scent when I walk past.  Otherwise, they are just a pain because they require a good bit of maintenance.

So, now add to my long list of things to do today to figure out some way to re-rig up my jasmine vine.  Errrrgh. I feel a trip to Lowe’s coming on.

Emma’s 11th birthday is tomorrow.  I have promised to make her a pound cake.  My grandma’s recipe.  THE best pound cake, EVER.  Rather labor intensive, but anything for my baby girl.  So add to my trip to Lowe’s a trip to the grocery store and probably a trip to my favorite store, Kohl’s, to find some little gifties for Em for her special day.  Slacker mama waits till the day before to shop.  OY.

So what am I still doing here??  I reckon I’m moving on…

3 Comments

Filed under Autism Days, Day to Day, Emma, Jacob

3 responses to “Life moves pretty fast…

  1. Unknown

    Okay, I totally understand the need to not whine to the world. BUT I also have to say (from an experienced perspective) that sometimes, figuring out how to SHARE without whining is a good way to work through the emotions of "the stuff." Look for the silver lining, girl! 🙂

  2. Toni

    LOVE the Ferris Bueller quote. I was beginning to wonder, back when you were blogging all the time, if anything ever got you down. It\’s OKAY! Do what you have to do–and if that involves not writing for a while, or if it means you occasionally whine on your blog, then so be it. I hope things are starting to look up for you guys, and that you find something that works for Jacob. Keep us posted! Toni

  3. Faithfulmom

    I really miss my frequent blog posts and many times I throw something on there. Unfortunately, busy Mom\’s just don\’t have the luxury (someday!) and yet, there is a side of blogging that clears my mind and fulfills me. I just keep plugging along when I can. Do they have charter schools …some of them are open to Asperger students. One Mom was in the school with other work but was near the Asperger student. We have been in a few charter schools while my Linz was in High School. The downside is that these small schools do not have the resources public schools do. Hang in there!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

