One Flu Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

“A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.”  ~Irish Proverb

The FLU has landed.  Right here in the cuckoo’s nest.

Right here on my poor baby boy.  So pitiful.  Baby girl was sick with the creeping crud last week, and thankfully, she has now recovered–with the exception of the occasional hacking jag.  But my boy is feeling like doo-doo, y’all!  A nostril swab (aka brain stab! YIKES!) has proven that my boy has contracted Influenza “A”…I suspect from the kid next door who has been down with the flu for over a week now.

I can’t recall any of us ever having had the actual full on for real flu before.  Oh, we’ve had stuff before…real bad cruddy stuff.  But to actually be diagnosed with “Influenza”…well, there’s something just a little bit more medically alarming about that.  Plus, it just tops off an already foggy, dreary, rainy day!  Good times.

I went to my local drug store and picked up all the prescribed pharmaceuticals, as well as a boat load of hand sanitizer and new toothbrushes for everyone!

I’m envisioning my whole house and its entire contents being lifted by some ginormous crane and lowered into a big ‘ole vat of hand sanitizer.  Like a flea dip…or a flu dip, if you will.  <insert cheesy grin here>

Let the fumigation begin! 

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

3 responses to “One Flu Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

  1. Toni

    Oh, wow. An actual diagnosis of influenza! I mean, you hear about it all the time, but how often do you really get it vs., say, just the crud? Poor Jacob. I think we would install a Germ-X option in the showerhead if we could.

  2. Kim

    Oh no, Joell. I\’m so sorry. I had that stuff last year and felt soooo bad! I will pray that he\’ll land a smaller a virus…did they give him tamiflu? or a cough supressant with codeine? that helps a lot! good luck..I expect to see your house…in the big sanitizer of life…but hopefully as just a passerby…and not as a cohabitant!

  3. Bill

    oh no! tell Jacob to stop complaining and get better. and if he got some of that good cough medicine, make sure you test it out to make sure it\’s not bad.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

