Dr. Carter, I presume

 

 

Is anyone else happy to see John Carter, MD back at County General??  Yes, ER is still on the air, people!  Man.

I was one of those people who said they’d stop watching ER after they killed off Dr. Greene with his brain tumor…”You set the tone, Carter…” *sniff sniff*  (To this day, I can’t hear that ukulele version of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” and not think of Dr. Greene and his last moments in Hawaii with Dr. Corday, Rachel and Ella by his side.)  But I still came back.  And then when Dr. Carter had the nerve to decide he needed to go gallivanting off in Africa (How dare he??!)…”You set the tone, Morris…” well, then I swore it off permanently.  But for some reason, I’ve never been able to free myself from my ER need.  And so, since that first show in 1994, I’ve stuck by my show.  Sometimes it’s been like watching a train wreck.  Some seasons have been really just plain bad, but yet, I kept watching.  Now, I am down to my last few episodes EVER and if they kill my Carter, well…It would just be wrong and I don’t know what I’d do!  The better find my Carter a kidney, that’s all I’m sayin’.

Emma started softball this week.  It’s something she’s never tried before, but I’m glad she was willing to give it a go.  It looks like it will be fun, but also a bit of a “time sucker”.

Unbelievably, Jacob has had minimal homework this week, so the stress in our home has been reduced to a very tolerable level.  The “question of the week” comes from Jacob…”What does http stand for?”…What??…

That’s not something I’ve ever thought about personally…but since Google is my friend, we looked it up for him.  I mean, what kid out there is asking their mother this kind of question?  I expect questions like, what is for dinner, or why do I have to do my homework, or what is puberty, but computer information questions, not so much.  But because I love my kid and I enjoy indulging his need to ask questions, I find the answers!

HAPPY FRIDAY! And we all know what that means….It’s TIME for the FRIDAY DANCE!!  And just so all my friends can participate in the weekly ritual I like to call “the Friday dance”, I have included a sample. This is only half the dance though, the Friday dance is really more of a cross between the cabbage patch and the running man.  No, don’t try to get a visual.  Just do it.  You’ll feel like a total dork, but I promise you will laugh and who doesn’t need to do that????

6 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Kids

6 responses to “Dr. Carter, I presume

  1. Pingback: Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 8}–Yawn. | red van ramblings

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness-Day 18 | red van ramblings

  3. siobhan

    I had basically gotten away from ER with all the cast changes, it was too much. But I admit, I did have to watch drCArter come back. Noah Whyle is just a cutie!!

  4. Joell

    I knew I could count on my two computer geeks, er, I mean friends to comment on the http thing. LOL. Thankfully, google hooked us up with that correct info right away. Computers are a beautiful thing…as is the Friday dance. 🙂

  5. Jim

    HTTP = Hyper Text Transfer Protocol

  6. Bill

    Jacob\’s my kind of guy! http = hypertext transfer protocol, a really really simple method to request/send web pages. You can see absolutely literally everything there is to know about it at http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc2616.html. I\’ve started the friday dance here too, but we usually do it when they get home from school. It\’s magical!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

