Sharing the Birthday Love.

 

“There aren’t enough days in the weekend.”  ~Rod Schmidt

 

 

Have I told y’all how much I love Friday?  Love love love it.  Friday is my most favorite day of the week.  Mainly because it means we aren’t going to have to do the crazy-homework-for-3-hours thing on Friday night.  Instead, we get to relax and I get to see a smile on my little boy’s face.  My not-so-little boy.  Who will be 14 in exactly 8 days. If you do the math (I generally choose NOT to, but in this case I can make an exception) you will notice that 8 days from now is Valentine’s Day.  My sweet boy was born on Valentine’s Day and I love that.  Such a great holiday to have a birthday, doncha think?

My grandma turned 90 years old this week.  We all call her Granny Hobbs–and when I say “all”, I mean many people who are not her grandchildren call her Granny as well.  She’s a trip and she’d just as soon tell you off as look at you. I’m not kidding.  Please do not, I repeat, do not, try to discuss anything of a political nature with her.  OH, and do not send her cut flowers either.  Just don’t.  She doesn’t like to watch them die.  Send her a plant instead.  It’s just best to know to avoid these things ahead of time.  Fact is, she’s 90 years old and she can, and WILL, say whatever the heck she wants to.  And, I think that should be allowed.  She still drives (daytime only), lives independently, shops regularly at thrift shops and Wal-Mart, goes to the beauty shop once a week for her “helmet hair” (contact me if you need further explanation of this phenomenon), and cares for her various and sundry plants and cats.  She loves to watch her “stories”…All My Children is her fave.  As of last summer, she was still working at a little beach shop owned by her friend Juanita.  Juanita (pronounced Wan-ee-ter), who is almost as old as Granny Hobbs, called her this week to wish her a happy birthday and to ask her if she was going to work at the beach shop again this summer.  Granny Hobbs said, “If I’m able.”  Keep in mind she’s been saying for several years, “I don’t think I’ll work at the shop next summer.”  She is extremely generous and never asks for anything.  In fact, you just might hack her off if you do something for her.  She is fiercely independent.  She always has some candy on hand in her purse to give any kids that she might come in contact with.  Growing up as the only granddaughter in the family, I was incredibly spoiled by her.  My brothers can attest to that.  Now she spoils all the grandkids and loves every minute of it.  She’d spend her last penny on something for them…or any of us, for that matter, if we needed it.   She doesn’t talk about the past too much…it’s pretty taboo…but what I gather is the following:  She was one of 9 children in a poor family.  She married my grandfather, had his baby, and watched him get shipped overseas never to return.  He was just 19 years old.  As a 22ish widow, she worked very hard, raised my Daddy on her own, and did a pretty fine job, I’d like to say.  She never remarried, though there were some boyfriends in there somewhere, or so I’m told.    Together with my parents and my sisters-in-law, we are putting together a surprise 90th birthday party for Granny Hobbs next weekend.  She will be angry with us.  Probably really angry.  But, oh well.  I’m pretty sure she will love it and hate it all at the same time.  It’s a risk we are willing to take.  It’s the least we can do.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Jacob

2 responses to “Sharing the Birthday Love.

  1. Tiffany

    Omigosh… your Granny is the cutest thing eva! My Gram turned 90 last year and she\’s a pill. She\’s a mean little pistol. Granted, she can be nice, but she\’s mean too! Hugs – Tiff

  2. Toni

    I\’m with you–if a woman is 90 she\’s totally entitled to say whatever she wants whenever she wants.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

