It’s All Good

“Fill your mind with the meaningless stimuli of a world preoccupied with meaningless things, and it will not be easy to feel peace in your heart.”~Marianne Williamson

I have given up on the house cleaning until sometime in January…I mean, what is the point, I ask you?

My life is too insane to be able to think about it.  I have not finished half of my Christmas shopping.  I have been busy with school stuff this week for the kids.  Kickball playoffs today for Emma.  Had a pow-wow with a couple of Jacob’s teachers, which was barely even semi-productive (but I did not cry!).  Teacher gifts…always a challenge.  Last minute school projects.  Will be tied up all day Friday as an “immigration inspector” (volunteer) at “Ellis Island” (Emma’s school).  Lydia Lansky (aka Emma) will be trying to immigrate to America with her tiny bundle of Russian belongings…and her tuberculosis.  Yikes!  It should be fun, but it will be an all day affair. Oh, and I haven’t even begun to get those very cool snapfish Christmas cards in the mail.  Forget baking.  I purchased the pre-baked box of gingerbread people for the kids to decorate.  Call me lazy…or just call me too crazy to do anything else!  Oh, and tomorrow morning Hubby will probably ask me, “Sweetie, do I have any clean underwear?”  And I will say, “Probably not…can’t you just turn that pair inside out or something?”  It would be accurate to say that no laundry has been happening around here this week.

I could fill up the page with everything that needs doing.

But, in the midst of it all, I have a strange sense of calm.  Not strange, really…I know that it has to be God.  Stuff will get done.  It really will, and what doesn’t get done…well, it just doesn’t get done. And the world won’t come crashing down around me.  It will really be okay. 

Two more days till school is out for Christmas break. 

Then.

No pressure.  No homework.  Just family.  And friends.  And Jesus’ birthday.

<insert relaxing sigh here>

It’s all good.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Lessons

7 responses to “It’s All Good

  1. Tiffany

    Hey… keep stopping by to catch an update. I hope that everything is okay with you guys! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!Hugs – Tiff

  2. Wahzat

    Happy New Year to you… Having just coming off of Christmas Holiday my self I must say I so understand the no homework. no pressure. no early wake up too well. sigh I miss the holiday s already.Hope you and your family had a great season and are doing well HugsG

  3. Margaret

    Hi JoellI hope you got through Christmas and the new year all right.?Happy and have a blessed year ahead.It\’s good to spend the tome with the kids.They just don\’t wait like house work does!They keep growing! So enjoy. Hugs Margaret

  4. Faithfulmom

    What a great attitude you have…really! I enjoy having the kids home but I cannot wait to have them gone only to do less clutter! I got last minute cards from Sam\’s Club online and within hours. I totally recommend them, if you have a membership. I hope your found your Christmas relaxing and Blessed.

  5. Toni

    hey hope you had a good Christmas, and that things are settled down now! Have a happy new year!

  6. Tiffany

    December has been crazy for us as well! We\’ve been in Cabot every weekend except 1 since Thanksgiving! That just makes it so hard to get stuff done around the house. We will be gone again this weekend to Cabot. I will be glad to be on the road a lot less. But, that\’s impossible since we will be in St. Louis for Blair\’s surgery in January! UGH! It just never ends for us Mom\’s does it? :)Have a Merry Christmas!Hugs – Tiffany

  7. Toni

    Gosh tell me about it. I love love love December but you\’re on the move 24/7, that\’s for sure. Turning the underwear inside out? I\’ll have to try that. I hate laundry.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

