Come on over…

 

 

“Why is it drug addicts and computer aficionados are both called users?” ~Clifford Stoll

 

For a while, I have thought that I had enough to maintain in the cyberworld–between the blog, myspace and cafemom.  But apparently, I’ve been hanging out at myspace for no reason.  It seems that everyone is at facebook.  Who knew??

Here’s the thing–you can’t just view someone’s page at facebook.  You have to sign up for facebook and be the person’s friend to view their page.  I appreciate the security of it and all, but now I’ve been sucked in.  After 5 of those “come over and view my facebook profile” email messages, I caved.

I admit it.

I had resisted for a long time.  But now, I have done it.  And now, not only have I been sucked in, but I’m afraid I’ll be in need of some sort of 12 step program for facebook addicts.  Holy cow.  Everyone and his cousin is on facebook.  I even found people I went to summer camp with back in, oh, probably, 1983.  My nephew calls it “stalkbook”.  After I confessed my impending addiction to him, he suggested I might call it “crackbook”…I think I’m going with that.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.  We enjoyed our time with our family.  It was way too brief.  My daughter says to me, “Mom, why can’t Victoria (her ‘same age’ cousin) live closer to us?”  It makes family time somewhat bittersweet because you realize how little time you get to spend with your people.  On the other hand, it makes it great, because not everyone looks forward to spending time with their family like we do.  We are truly blessed.

But hey, if I can’t seem them in person, I guess I can settle for seeing them on facebook.

OH MY GOODNESS!  I almost forgot to wish myself a Happy Blog-iversary!  It’s been two years now, which is pretty amazing because I usually can’t keep anything going longer than a week.  Go me.

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family

3 responses to “Come on over…

  1. Toni

    I think I have a facebook account–you\’re not the only one who got sucked in. I just need to go figure out how to use the thing and then I\’ll join that 12 step program with you.
     
    Happy blogiversary!

  2. Sarah

    I\’m addicted to facebook too… It\’s amazing to see all that goes on and somewhat overwhelming at first, but I love it now… even the dumb games we play like Lil\’ green patch and other nonsense that will suck the hours right out of my day.  I got my mom and several friends addicted too. 

  3. Tiffany

    You and me both with the facebook thing… UGH… why is it so freaking addictive?  🙂 
     
    Hugs – Tiff

I always love hearing from you! :-)

