Count Your Blessings

 

“When I started counting my blessings, my whole life turned around.”~Willie Nelson

Thanksgiving.

Giving Thanks.

Thanks for giving.

It’s here.  That much ignored holiday sandwiched between Halloween and Christmas.

I love Thanksgiving.  For a lot of reasons.  Not the least of which is an excuse to indulge in all that yummy deliciousness!  I love the colors and smells of it.  I love the chaotic busyness of it.  I love the crowded house, the noise, the inevitable “remember when” stories shared.  I love my people.

Since 2003, Hubby and I have had the luxury of having people come to US for Thanksgiving.  When we lived in Iowa, it was impossible for us to come to North Carolina for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and it made more sense for us to come for Christmas since we had more time off.  So, we stayed home.  We had my BFF Kristi and her family drive out to Iowa the first year we lived there.  It meant more to me than she can ever know.  We spent the day with them and with Hubby’s sister and her family who live in Iowa as well.  It was a great time.  The next year, my parents came out.  And, in spite of the fact that my parents’ house was robbed while they were in Iowa for the holiday and the subsequent attempt, by the thieves, to sell all my mother’s jewelry on EBAY, it was perhaps the most memorable and fun Thanksgiving I can ever remember.  We laughed a lot.  My mom has a great laugh. 

It definitely spoils you when people come to you.  However, this year, we are gladly headed up to North Carolina for the holiday.  I expect loudness, chaos, lots of food and lots of laughing.  I expect to be reminded of all my many blessings.  I love it.  I have so much to be thankful for.

 

Y’all have a good one!

May your stuffing be tasty
May your turkey plump,
May your potatoes and gravy
Have never a lump.
May your yams be delicious
And your pies take the prize,
And may your Thanksgiving dinner
Stay off your thighs!

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Count Your Blessings

  1. Wahzat

    I hope you are having a great great time! Family time is always the best I miss that being so far away from mine.Be safe and enjoy!Happy ThankgivingG

  2. Margaret

    Loved your blog.
         Have a blessed Thanksgiving with your family.Laugh a lot ,it takes all those calories and puts them to work LOL.!
                              Hugs Margaret

  3. Jim

    I counted.  I have 3 Bs.  (1) Z, (2) L and (3) Charlotte the Wonder Lab of Imminent Destruction  🙂
     
    Yes, wave while driving through.

  4. Bill

    wave when you drive through CLT

I always love hearing from you! :-)

