Trick or treating and other stuff

After a crazy week last week, it was fun to just let loose Friday night. The kids were so awesome in their costumes. Who we have here are Mad Eye Moody and Hermione from the Harry Potter series…just in case you are somehow unfamiliar with the “HP” phenomenon.  Gotta love how they are trying to be all menacing in this shot! 

We also picked up some pumpkins and took the lazy way out by doing the old Mr. Potato Head style of pumpkin decor.  I thought they were cute. 

Normally, I just stay home and perform the candy-hander-outer duties.  Clyn is usually the one who walks the neighborhood with the kids.  This year, he was working late and so I thought I’d have a little fun with it too…yeah, that is me.  I knew that Hannah Montana wig would come in handy someday. Clyn made it home just in time to hand out the candy.In other news…well, I guess there really is no “in other news”. Except what is all over the news today.

Unless you live under a rock, you know we have elected ourselves a new president.  I spent 3 hours in line yesterday to cast my vote.   It was something else, but I am proud to say I performed my civic duty…for what it was worth.  Mostly, I’m just glad it’s over. I’m just wondering what is the media going to do now??  I’m sure they’ll milk it for all they can and analyze it TO DEATH (which means I will probably not watch any TV news for the next 5 days–unless I have a sudden urge to stab my eyes out and have my ears bleed).

Sadly, Saturday Night Live might just have to shut their doors.  I mean, McCain and Palin were a comedian’s dream.  Obama and Biden??  Boring.  No comic fodder there.  I do hope and pray that the people of our country, regardless of their political affiliations, can stop their bickering and move forward.  It’s time.  Can’t we just all get along?

Maybe we’ll have at least a year and a half of respite before the next guys start campaigning for 2012.

One can always hope.

4 Comments

Filed under Kids

4 responses to “Trick or treating and other stuff

  1. Jim

    Expecto Patronum!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Toni

    don\’t worry–palin will be back. at least i hope so–snl was awesome at making fun of her.
    LOVE the hp costumes! they\’re perfect!
    the sister christian story involved some squirrels giving into peer pressure and stealing nuts and just generally wreaking havoc until they realized the error of their ways.

  3. Lena

     
    cute costumes!
     
    and I\’m glad it\’s all over too.  Let\’s just all move on.  I\’m glad he acknowledged in his victory speech that change won\’t be coming this year, next year, or even this term.  I love me some realistic politicians!
     

  4. Tiffany

    Hey girl… I love the Halloween costumes! Awesome!  Happy late Anniversary!  I\’m glad the election is over as well! 
    I love the pics at the Raptor Center… very cool!
     
    Big Hugs – Tiffany

I always love hearing from you! :-)

