Fever!

 

 

 

I’ve been a mother for almost 14 years now, but, honestly, when I see 103.6 on a thermometer, I freak out a little.

Sunday afternoon while we were still on our weekend getaway to my mother-in-law’s, Jacob started complaining of a headache.  Sunday night, actually Monday morning, around 2 am, he comes in our room and says he can’t get back to sleep. 

Well, no wonder, kid, your head is on FIRE!! 

Seriously, I was waiting for him to spontaneously combust at any given moment!

Then the intestinal distress began.

Poor kid.  There wasn’t a whole lot of sleeping going on.

So he stayed home from school yesterday. 

He had that weak-eyed look.  That pitiful look that makes you just want to scoop him up and hold him all day like you did when he was 3 (4, 5, 6 and 7) with his dreaded ear infections. 

We kept the fluids going and alternated the Tylenol and the Ibuprofen. And then there was our friend Immodium for the intestinal distress.

Thank goodness for modern over-the-counter medication, I always say.  Even though his temp is back to normal and there doesn’t seem to be any intestinal distress this morning, he’s getting an extra recuperation day. 

Sometimes you just need an extra day.

And it all makes me think of a song…for your listening enjoyment, here is I’ve Got the Fever by Billy Scott and the Georgia Prophets, from 1968:

 

I’ve Got The Fever by Billy Scott and the Georgia Prophets 1968

 

3 Comments

Filed under Jacob

3 responses to “Fever!

  1. Wahzat

    Hope Jacob is all better now. i so dislike fever so I totally understand.Keep goodG

  2. Toni

    Poor guy! What is UP with this freak fever everyone keeps getting? I hope Jacob gets over it completely during his extra recovery day, and that no one else comes down with it!

  3. Bill

    UGH, Poor Jacob!  It\’s hard when your kids are sick, it\’s lucky he has such a good mom.  And I want to give the person who invented the Tylenol/Motrin alternating medicine trick a Nobel Prize in something.  That\’s good stuff

I always love hearing from you! :-)

