Smell it.

 

“The breezes taste
Of apple peel.
The air is full
Of smells to feel-
Ripe fruit, old footballs,
Burning brush,
New books, erasers,
Chalk, and such.
The bee, his hive,
Well-honeyed hum,
And Mother cuts
Chrysanthemums.
Like plates washed clean
With suds, the days
Are polished with
A morning haze.

~John Updike, September

Fall is coming.  I can smell it.

Today we saw our first semi-fall day…morning temps were in the mid-60s.  Very low humidity…nice change, I must say.

I love fall.

I had to go put some air in my tires yesterday.  The Edge is so smart.  He tells me when I need air in my tires!  So off I went to the gas station where, lo and behold, a big ole honking beer truck has parked itself smack in front of my air machine.  <The Nerve!>  I park The Edge as close as I can and press the button.  The air starts cranking up and I’m putting some air in.  Soon, I begin to realize that the air isn’t working very well.  Confused, I head back toward the machine and realize that the machine has cut off –only I couldn’t hear it because of the loud engine of said honking beer truck.  So, unbeknownst to me, I had been letting air OUT of my tire instead of putting it in.  By now, I had about 20 psi in my 44 psi tire.  So I press the button again.  Nothing.  Again.  Nothing.  UGH.

The upshot is, I had to drive across the street to the other gas station and PAY 75 cents for air.  So you see the oxymoron here??  PAY for AIR.  It just seems wrong.  It was annoying, but what can you do?  The Edge turned his light off, so I must have satisfied his air craving.

…And now, back to your regularly scheduled Fall Love Fest already in progress…

It is funny, when the fall smell starts to hit the air, I start missing my people.  What I mean is, I am about to need a family fix.  I haven’t seen my family since the very beginning of the summer.  Some of them read this…if you are reading, I miss you. Fall lets me know that the holidays are around the corner and suddenly I have that need to be with family.  Stand around in the kitchen with the women folk and cook and eat and talk about family stuff.  Fall makes me want to breathe in the air a little deeper.  Walk outside a little more.  I just love all the colors and smells…breaking out that light jacket for the first time.

Love it.

<insert nostalgic sigh and deep sniff here>

 

6 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family

6 responses to “Smell it.

  1. barnyardmama

    I\’m also a big fan of fall.  Especially the first crisp days.  The leave don\’t change color or anything, but I sure do enjoy the temperature change.
     
    KM

  2. Toni

    Ooo, I bet where you are, fall is gorgeous. Here, with no trees–not so much. But the temps are nice.
    Will you be able to schedule a visit with your people soon?

  3. Nooner™

     
    Er, Joell?
     
    VERY nice new Profile Pic! Wow… Hey, do you always make a habit of being the prettiest girl in the state where you live? Damn, I wish I was Southern 😉
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  4. Michelle

    Oh man!  What you said you were missing your people and fall in the same sentence….I had hopes you meant Iowa!!  You can\’t beat Fall in Iowa.  (except maybe with Spring).  Open windows, changing leaves…  It\’s gorgeous!
    And now that "The Edge" has air…. isn\’t time to test drive him for real….like out to Iowa. ;P
     

  5. Bill

    I love fall too, and it\’s gorgeous here today.  Not too hot, nice and clear.  The only bad thing is that the pool is closing, so I have to give the kids baths again, instead of letting them just go swimming (its LIKE a bath, right???)

  6. Nooner™

     
    OK. Don\’t visit me and see if I care.
     
    HaHa. Just kidding. I\’m not one to get around "to every pretty face" either. 😉
     
    In my state, Joell, (Connecticut) there is some sort of law that basically says all gas stations have to provide free air for tires "if asked". In other words, they are allowed to have "air" machines that require a quarter or more to work, BUT, if a person goes in to the store and asks that the air be turned on for them, they are required to do so for free. Check it out for your state for next time.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

